Pride of Place—Kells Municipal District Awards night

Tuesday 9th October, 2018

The Headfort Arms Hotel, Kells, Co Meath

The Kells Municipal District Pride of Place awards were held in the Headfort Arms Hotel, Kells on Tuesday night, 9th October, 2018.

The evening was emceed by Eilis Sheehy, Senior News Reporter for LMFM.  The Chairperson of Kells Municipal District, Cllr. Eugene Cassidy warmly welcomed the guests, which included local Councillors and representatives from 58 local groups. Cllr. Cassidy noted the fantastic work and achievements of the voluntary groups, which demonstrates a real pride the people of Kells Municipal District have in their locality.  Director of Services, Kevin Stewart also acknowledged the hard work of the groups from Kells Municipal District which was acknowledged at national level with the results of the Tidy Towns competition which saw an increase of points for all participating groups.

The following were the winners from Kells Municipal District on the night:

Housing Estate Small - Joint 1st Place: Hillside Drive & Ardee Road & Joint 1st: Railway View, 2nd Place: Termon Hall

Housing Estate Medium - 
1st Place: Mountdutton, Joint 2nd: Meadowlands & Joint 2nd: Village Green

Housing Estate Large - 
1st Place: Cherryhill

Best Presented Front Garden - Joint Winner: Tommy Quinn, Castletown & Joint Winner: Michael Maher, Meadowlands

Village/ Townland >500 - 
Moynalty Tidy Towns

Small Town 500 - 2000 - 
Nobber Pride of Place

Large Town > 2000 - 
Kells Pride of Place

Youth Project - Kells Pride of Place

Watercourse Amenity - Kilmainhamwood Area Development Association

Grow Your Own - 
St. Mary’s Villas

Heritage - 
Drumconrath Cultural & Heritage Society

Nature/Wildlife - Athboy Community Allotments

Best New Group - 
Bective Place

Vacant Premises - 
Castletown Tidy Towns Association

Volunteer of the Year - Matthew Reilly

Shop Front - 
McDermott’s Menswear

Hospitality/Tourism - Moynalty Steam Threshing

Winners in the Housing Estate Small, Housing Estate Medium, Housing Estate Large, Village/ Townland >500, Small Town 500 – 2000, Large Town > 2000, Youth Project, Watercourse Amenity, Grow Your Own, Heritage, Nature/Wildlife, Vacant Premises, Tourism/ Hospitality categories and the entries for the Residential Streetscape categories will go forward to represent the Kells Municipal Districts in the County finals where they will compete with the winners from the other 5 Municipal Districts. The County finals will be held on the 8th November in the Solstice Arts Centre, Navan.

Meath County Council would also like to wish Moynalty Steam Threshing who are representing Meath, the very best of luck at the Co-Operation Ireland Pride of Place awards for their entry in the Community Tourism Initiative category.  Judging took place in early August and the results will be announced at the awards ceremony in Cork City Hall on Saturday 17th November, 2018.