Pride of Place—Ratoath Municipal District Awards night

Thursday 18th October, 2018

Meath County Council, Dunshaughlin Civic Offices

The Ratoath Municipal District Pride of Place awards were held in the Dunshaughlin Civic Offices on Thursday night, 18th October, 2018.

Chairperson of Ratoath Municipal District, Cllr. Maria Murphy warmly welcomed the guests, which included local Councillors and representatives from 39 local groups. Cllr. Murphy noted the fantastic work and achievements of the voluntary groups, which demonstrates a real pride the people of Ratoath Municipal District have in their locality.

Director of Services Mr Des Foley congratulated all the groups present on their achievements over the last 12 months.  He noted that the increase in the number of groups taking part in the Pride of Place competition is a sign of the commitment the people of Ratoath Municipal District have in making their communities a better place to live.  He noted that their commitment has been acknowledged at a national level with another year of increased points for the groups in the Ratoath MD taking part in the national Tidy Towns competition.

The highlight of the night was the award of Volunteer of the Year award to Ann Power.  Ann was instrumental in the setup of Hill View Residents Association over 35 years ago.  Her extremely hard work, dedication and perseverance was the driving force to get the estate to where it is today.  Ann is also involved with the local Tidy Towns and is very active with the litter control in the area.  She has devoted herself to sustained and voluntary service.

The following were the winners for Ratoath Municipal District:

Housing Estate Small - 1st Place: St. Peter’s Park, 2nd Place: Rathregan Court 

Housing Estate Medium - 1st Place: Hillview, Dunshaughlin, 2nd Place: Coill Beag 

Housing Estate Large -  1st Place: Clonkeen, 2nd Place: Luttrell Hall

Best Presented Front Garden - Joint Winner: Pat Conlon, Riverstown & Joint Winner: Barbara Makula, Hillview Dunshaughlin

Village/ Townland >500 - Joint Winner: Kiltale Enhancement Group & Joint Winner: Dunsany Pride of Place

Small Town 500 - 2000 - Skane Valley Community Council

Large Town > 2000 - Dunboyne Tidy Towns Association

Youth Project - Dunboyne Tidy Towns Association

Watercourse Amenity - Skane Valley Community Council

Grow Your Own - Batterstown Village Enhancement Association 

Heritage - Dunshaughlin Tidy Towns

Nature/Wildlife - Dunboyne Tidy Towns

Best New Group - Coill Beag Residents Association  

Vacant Premises - Kiltale Enhancement Group 

Volunteer of the Year - Ann Power

Shop Front - The Village Pump

Hospitality/Tourism - Kiltale Farm Holiday Homes

Winners in the Housing Estate Small, Housing Estate Medium, Housing Estate Large, Village/ Townland >500, Small Town 500 – 2000, Large Town > 2000, Youth Project, Watercourse Amenity, Grow Your Own, Heritage, Nature/Wildlife, Vacant Premises, Tourism/ Hospitality categories and the entries for the Residential Streetscape categories will go forward to represent the Ratoath Municipal Districts in the County finals where they will compete with the winners from the other 5 Municipal Districts. The County finals will be held on the 8th November in the Solstice Arts Centre, Navan.