County Council Branding

Solid Fuel Regulations

Do You Burn Coal?

The Air Pollution Act (Marketing, Sale, Distribution and Burning of Specified Fuels) Regulations 2012, designated the following areas as a ‘Low Smoke Zones

• Navan Town and Environs from the 1st May 2013.
• Drogheda Town has been extended to include Mornington, Bettystown and Laytown from 10th September 2012.

It is now ILLEGAL to burn or for a Coal Merchant to sell you bituminous coal (Smoky/Polish Coal) within the restricted area of Navan and the extended Drogheda area.

The ban on smoky coals is intended to improve air quality and protect human health by replacement with smokeless fuels in urban areas. This ban specifically relates to bituminous or smoky products i.e. Polish or Texan Coals, Singles, Doubles & Slack etc.

There is a large selection of high quality low smoke coal products available. Low smoke coal will ensure better air quality, and improved health in our Urban Environment. If you are able to purchase a banned fuel within the Low Smoke Zones then this means that the trader is breaking the law and impacting on the livelihoods of legal traders. If you buy and burn smoky coal, you are breaking the law and you could be fined with a fixed payment notice, (Spot Fine), of between €250 - €1000 for alleged offences.

For further information, contact Environment Section, Buvinda House, Dublin Road, Navan, Co. Meath. Telephone: (046) 9097000

To comply with the ban – simply burn Low Smoke Coal products!

Map of Navan Area pdf, 5,363kb

Map of Extension to the Drogheda Area pdf, 9,429kb

How to stay warm and protect the Environment and your Health this Winter pdf, 46kb