County Council Branding

News and Events

Retail Excellence Awards were held in the Great Southern Hotel, Killarney on Saturday 10th November - Congratulations and well done to Slane - chosen as Ireland’s Friendliest Place for 2019

Date Released: 12 November 2018


National Retail Excellence Awards Winners Announced

Co. Meath town wins Ireland’s Friendliest Place 2019


Retail Excellence, the largest Retail representative body in Ireland, has announced the winners of their annual Awards held in the Great Southern Hotel, Killarney last night Saturday, 10th November.

The Awards, which are backed by AIB Merchant Services, were presented by energetic TV personality Hector Ó hEochagáin and attended by more than 500 Irish retail industry executives.

Slane in the heart of the Boyne Valley, one of the most historic and picturesque regions in Ireland was nominated by Meath County Council and chosen as Ireland’s Friendliest Place for 2019.

Top5 Store Winners included Willow in Ennis, who took the National Store of the Year 2019, Mellerick’s Pharmacy, Fermoy, bambino’s children’s store, Ennis, Shannon Airport Duty Free, Shannon, and Fresh The Good Food Market, Grand Canal Square, Dublin.

Other sectoral award winners included The Kilkenny Shop on Nassau Street which won Restaurant and Coffee House of the Year, Specsavers on Dawson Street who picked up the title of Optician of the Year, Harvey Norman, Tallaght won National Electronic & Tech store, Dollard & Co., Dublin won National Food & Wine Store of the Year, Applegreen, Gorey won National Forecourt Store of the Year, Casey’s Furniture in Limerick won National Home & Interiors store, and Petstop, Carrickmines, Dublin won Pet Store of the Year. Arboretum, Carlow was crowned as Garden Centre of the Year 2019.

The night also celebrated the best in eCommerce with Glanbia winning Website of the Year, Hale Vaping winning New Website of the Year, mobile operator Three winning Digital Campaign of the Year and Carrolls Irish Gifts winning Exporter of the Year for 2019.

Talent within the Retail Industry was also celebrated with Mary Keane, Manager of The Kilkenny Shop on Nassau Street, Dublin winning Manager of the Year and Niamh Cleary of Inglot Waterford winning Rising Star of the Year. 

Fianna Fáil TD Dara Calleary, has been named Retail Advocate of the Year 2019 for his work supporting the industry as chair of the Oireachtas Cross Party Group on Retail and DPD was announced as the Supplier of the Year 2019 to the Irish Retail Industry.

Group CEO of Retail Excellence David Fitzsimons said “Huge congratulations to Slane on picking up this prestigious award. We are delighted to recognize and award the very best in Irish retail all of whom have shown an unquestionable commitment to meeting and exceeding customer expectations as well as innovation in store and in-service delivery. We are particularly pleased that across all of our categories of awards Irish retailers, both big and small, urban and rural competed to deliver that exceptional standard of service to customers regardless of their size.’

“We look forward to working with the finalists, entrants and members into the future to assist in their endeavours and continue driving standards in Irish retail.”

Congratulating Slane on their achievement, Robert Doherty, Director of Product at AIBMS said “It’s fantastic to see that the spirit of Slane’s own Francis Ledwidge still rings true. In his words “Come often, friend, with welcome and surprise, We'll greet you from the sea or from the town”. AIBMS would like to congratulate everyone in Slane and Meath County Council, on winning Ireland’s Friendliest Place.”

Established by Retail Excellence in 1997, The Awards is the biggest event in the Irish retail industry calendar and aims to promote best practice and encourage high standards in the Irish retail industry.


Retail Excellence Awards Winners 2018

The victorious Slane and Meath County Council delegation who picked up the prestigious title of Ireland's Friendliest Place 2019 at the 21st Retail Excellence Awards held in Killarney. 


Full List of Winners

National Store of the Year 2019

Willow, Ennis, Co. Clare

Top5 Store & National Pharmacy of the Year 2019

Mellerick’s Pharmacy, Fermoy, Co. Cork

Top5 Store 2019

bambino's, Ennis

Top5 Store & National Visitor Store of the Year 2019

Shannon Duty Free, Shannon Airport, Co. Clare

Top5 Store & National Supermarket of the Year 2019

Fresh the Good Food Market, Grand Canal Square, Dublin 

National Specialist Food & Wine Store of the Year 2019

Dollard & Co., Wellington Quay, Dublin

National Restaurant & Coffee House of the Year 2019

The Kilkenny Restaurant & Café, Nassau Street, Dublin

National Electronic & Tech Store of the Year 2019

Harvey Norman, Tallaght, Dublin

National Forecourt of the Year 2019

Applegreen, Ramstown, Gorey

National Garden Centre of the Year 2019

Arboretum, Kilkenny Road, Co. Carlow

National Home / Interiors Store of the Year 2109

Casey's Furniture, Raheen, Co. Limerick

National Gift Store of the Year 2019

Nook and Cranny, Main Street, Portlaoise, Co. Laois

National Optician of the Year 2019

Specsavers Opticians, Dawson Street, Dublin 2

National Pet Store of the Year 2019

Petstop, The Park, Carrickmines, Dublin

Retail Industry Advocate of the Year 2109

Dara Calleary TD, Fianna Fáil, Mayo

Supplier of the Year 2019


Ireland’s Friendliest Place 2019

Slane, Co. Meath

Rising Star of the Year 2019

Niamh Cleary, Inglot

Manager of the Year 2019

Mary Keane, The Kilkenny Shop

Website of the Year 2019

Glanbia Connect

New Website of the Year 2019

Hale Vaping

Digital Campaign of the Year 2019


Exporter of the Year 2019

Carrolls Irish Gifts


back to Other News