Address: Balrath, Navan, Co. Meath
Telephone: +353 (0) 41 982 5749
The Balrath estate dates back to the 1760's. The current owners Ray and Frances O'Brien have wonderfully renovated the old out houses which were used at one time for; milking cows, shoeing horses, housing animals and coaches to cosy, bright self catering cottages.
There are four cottages to choose from each offering something unique, decorated to modern living while still maintaining features of its past. The Coachhouse sleeps six, the stables sleeps four and the Forge and Dairy sleep 2.
The cottages are located beside the classical style Georgian house that was built for the Walsh family. The Walsh's wealth was created from their milling business and historical records show that in 1654 there were over 100 corn mills in County Meath. The substantial remains of one such corn mill are situated in the lower garden where it is still possible to see the site of the former mill wheel and mill race.
There is strong history associated with the house and many of the original features still remain for example the original Lock and key and the Adam plasterwork. The house is open from January 5th-27th, May 1st-31st, June 1st-19th Monday to Saturday from 9am-1pm except Bank Holidays.
The estate is an ideal location for walking and offers splendid views of the "forty shades of green" which Ireland is famous for.
The Balrath estate is located just off the (N2) main Dublin/Derry road east of Balrath cross.
View Larger Map