Royal Sites of Ireland Tentative List Announcement


Royal Sites of Ireland Tentative List Announcement

6 Royal Sites

The Royal Sites of Ireland are a group of six unique collectives of largely prehistoric monuments and sites associated in early medieval and medieval texts as the principal ancient sites of royal inauguration in Ireland.

Spread throughout the island, four of the sites represent the ancient Kingdoms of Ireland and its current provinces of North (Emain Macha), South (Rock of Cashel), East (Dún Ailline) and West (Rathcroghan). Tara was the seat of the High Kings of Ireland situated in the ancient ‘fifth’ province of Meath (Midhe) while the Hill of Uisneach the ‘omphalos’ or centre was where the 5 kingdoms met.

The respective Local Authorities of Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon, Tipperary, Kildare, Roscommon, Meath and Westmeath, have been working together for many years to develop the Royal Sites of Ireland case for ‘outstanding universal value’ which is the key attribute for world heritage sites.

An application to the new Tentative List was made in June 2021. In line with UNESCO guidelines a site must first be on its State’s Tentative List, before it can be considered eligible to move forward with a bid for World Heritage status. The addition of the Royal Sites to the Tentative List is the first step in a long process towards the achievement of World Heritage Site status.

The respective Local Authorities are very much looking forward to the journey towards nomination. A critical element of this will be partnership, working with landowners, local and national stakeholders and the Department and we look forward to commencing this process shortly.

Cathaoirleach of Meath County Council, Cllr Nick Killian ‘welcomed the announcement for the inclusion of Tara as part of the Royal Sites of Ireland as a key first step towards to achieving UNESCO World Heritage Status’.

Jackie Maguire, Chief Executive, Meath County Council said “we look forward to continuing to work in partnership with the relevant Local Authorities, the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage and the OPW, in collaboration with all stakeholders".