Management Team

Management Team

We have responsibility for the efficient and effective management of public services in County Meath.

The Chief Executive carries out the executive functions of the Council, which include:

  • Employment of staff
  • Granting or refusal of planning permissions
  • Property management
  • Day to day running of the Council

Decisions made by the Chief Executive are called “Chief Executive’s Orders”.  These are circulated and noted by Councillors at the monthly meeting of the Council.

Our Management Team


Ms Jackie Maguire

Chief Executive


Mr Des Foley

Director of Services for Planning, Economic and Tourism Development, with responsibility for the Trim MD.


Ms Fiona Lawless

Director of Services for Finance, Information Systems and Water Services, with responsibility for the Ashbourne and Laytown/Bettystown MDs.


Mr Barry Lynch

Director of Services for Housing, Community and Cultural Development, with responsibility for the national Age Friendly Programme.


Mr Dara McGowan

Director of Services for Corporate Affairs and Governance, Climate Action and Emergency Services, with responsibility for Ratoath and Kells MDs.


Mr Martin Murray

Director of Services for Infrastructure, Project Management, People Management and Development, with responsibility for the Navan MD.


Strategic Policy Committees

There are 4 Strategic Policy Committees (SPCs). These are chaired by a Councillor and comprise both Councillors and members from sectoral/community groups.  SPC’s advise the Council on policy matters.

The Strategic Policy Committees of the Council are:

  • Planning, Economic Development and Enterprise
  • Environmental
  • Transportation
  • Housing, Social, Community and Cultural

More on SPCs

Corporate Policy Group

The chairpersons of the SPCs together with the chairperson of the Council form a Corporate Policy Group (CPG). This group links the work of the SPCs together.  It provides a forum where policy decisions affecting Meath can be agreed for submission to the full Council.

All municipal districts are represented on the CPG including the chairpersons of the SPCs.

More on CPGs