

Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

Navan Municipal District

Annual Meeting

10.00 a.m., 18th June 2018, Navan Civic Offices

An Meára, **Councillor Tommy Reilly**, presided.

Councillors Present: Sinéad Burke, Francis Deane, Padraig Fitzsimons, Jim Holloway.

Officials in Attendance:

Director of Service: Kevin Stewart Executive Engineer: Paul O'Brien Staff Officer: Triona Keating Assistant Staff Officer: Jackie O'Donnell

The Mayor, Councillor Tommy Reilly, opened the meeting by requesting the suspension of Standing Orders to pay tribute to Joe Reilly, former Councillor of Navan Town Council and Meath County Council. This was agreed on the proposal of Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons and seconded by Councillor Sinead Burke.

Councillors and Officials paid tribute to Joe Reilly as a colleague and a friend. Joe was described as a man of great wisdom, honorary and bravery. Navan was his love and he took his role as Councillor seriously and the work he did for the town of Navan and the people in it was acknowledged. Joe will be greatly missed and fondly remembered.

A minutes silence was held in honour of Joe and as a mark of respect the meeting was adjourned for five minutes.

1 Election of Mayor / Meára

The Mayor, Councillor Tommy Reilly thanked Councillors for their courtesy throughout the year, the Chief Executive, Area Manager, Administrative and Municipal District Staff for their support and work throughout the year. He also thanked Eilish Sheahy, LMFM and Ann Casey, The Meath Chronicle who have supported the Council on projects put forward. Councillors congratulated Councillor Reilly on his term and acknowledged the manner in which he had undertaken the role. This was reiterated by Kevin Stewart on behalf of Council Staff.



Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

Councillor Jim Holloway was proposed by Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons and seconded by Councillor Tommy Reilly.

Councillor Francis Deane was proposed by Councillor Sinead Burke and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.

As there were two nominations for the position of Mayor, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BURKE, Sinéad	F. Deane
DEANE, Francis	F. Deane
FITZSIMONS, Padraig	J. Holloway
FORDE, Wayne	Absent
HOLLOWAY, Jim	J. Holloway
REILLY, Tommy	J. Holloway

Result:

HOLLOWAY, Jim – 3 votes

DEANE, Francis - 2 votes

Councillor Jim Holloway was declared elected and assumed the Chair.

The incoming Mayor thanked Councillors for their support and welcomed advancement on the Distributor Road Network, the amenity project in the Johnstown area and housing development within the town to meet it's demand.

2 Election of Deputy Mayor / Leas-Mheára

Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons was proposed by Councillor Tommy Reilly and seconded by Councillor Jim Holloway.

Councillor Francis Deane was proposed by Councillor Sinead Burke and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.



Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

As there were two nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BURKE, Sinéad	F. Deane
DEANE, Francis	F. Deane
FITZSIMONS, Padraig	P. Fitzsimons
FORDE, Wayne	Absent
HOLLOWAY, Jim	P. Fitzsimons
REILLY, Tommy	P. Fitzsimons

<u>Result:</u>

FITZSIMONS, Padraig – 3 votes

BURKE, Sinéad - 2 votes

Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons was declared elected.

Councillors congratulated Councillor Fitzsimons on his election as Deputy Mayor and commended him on his hard work and the success of the Shamrock Festival.

3 To agree the Schedule of Meetings

The following meeting dates were agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Francis Deane** and seconded by **Councillor Tommy Reilly**.

Meetings will commence at **10.00 a.m.** on the following dates:

Date	Туре
Wednesday, 18 th July 2018	Ordinary
Wednesday, 19 th September 2018	Ordinary
Wednesday, 17 th October 2018	Ordinary



comhairle chontae na mí meath county council

Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, 21 st November 2018	Ordinary
Wednesday, 19 th December 2018	Ordinary
Wednesday, 23 rd January 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 20 th February 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 20 th March 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 17 th April 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 22 nd May 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 19 th June 2019	Annual
Wednesday, 19 th June 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 17 th April 2019 Wednesday, 22 nd May 2019 Wednesday, 19 th June 2019	Ordinary Ordinary Annual

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Signed:

An Meára