



Ashbourne Municipal District

Annual Meeting

9.30a.m., 15th June 2015, Ashbourne Civic Offices

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Suzanne Jamal, presided.

Councillors Present: Claire O'Driscoll, Darren O'Rourke, Seán Smith, Alan Tobin.

Officials in Attendance:

Apologies: Councillor Joe Bonner **Head of Finance**: Fiona Lawless

Meetings Administrator: Claire King Senior Executive Engineer: Jim Colwell

Executive Engineer: Janet Murphy

Staff Officer: Triona Keating

Councillor Suzanne Jamal opened the meeting and thanked everyone for their efforts over the last year. She confirmed that, whilst it had been a challenging year, it had been both an honour and a privilege to serve as Cathaoirleach.

She asked that a request be made to the Protocol Committee to provide a chain of office for the Cathaoirleach and this was agreed.

1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Claire O'Driscoll was proposed by Councillor Seán Smith and seconded by Councillor Alan Tobin.

Councillor Joe Bonner was proposed by Councillor Darren O'Rourke and seconded by Councillor Claire O'Driscoll.

As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:





Councillor	Vote	
BONNER, Joseph	ABSENT	
JAMAL, Suzanne	C. O'Driscoll	
O'DRISCOLL, Claire	C. O'Driscoll	
O'ROURKE, Darren	J. Bonner	
SMITH, Seán	C. O'Driscoll	
TOBIN, Alan	C. O'Driscoll	

Result:

O'DRISCOLL, Claire – 4 votes

BONNER, Joe - 1 vote

Councillor Claire O'Driscoll was declared elected and assumed the Chair.

The Cathaoirleach thanked the Councillors for their support and expressed her wish that an item on planning matters be added to the agenda for future meetings. This was agreed.

2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Councillor Alan Tobin was proposed by Councillor Suzanne Jamal and seconded by Councillor Seán Smith.

Councillor Joe Bonner was proposed by Councillor Darren O'Rourke and seconded by Councillor Claire O'Driscoll.

As there were two nominations for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joseph	ABSENT
JAMAL, Suzanne	A. Tobin
O'DRISCOLL, Claire	A. Tobin
O'ROURKE, Darren	J. Bonner



SMITH, Seán	A. Tobin
TOBIN, Alan	A. Tobin

Result:

TOBIN, Alan – 4 votes

BONNER, Joe - 1 vote

Councillor Alan Tobin was declared elected.

3 To agree the Schedule of Meetings

The following meeting dates were agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Alan Tobin** and seconded by **Councillor Suzanne Jamal**.

Meetings will commence at 9.30 a.m. on the following dates:

Date	Туре
Monday, 13 th July 2015	Ordinary
Monday, 14 th September 2015	Ordinary
Monday, 12 th October 2015	Ordinary
Monday, 9 th November 2015	Ordinary
Monday, 14 th December 2015	Ordinary
*Monday, 18 th January 2016	Ordinary
(*Meeting date changed due to MCC meeting on the 11 th January)	
Monday, 8 th February 2016	Ordinary
Monday, 14 th March 2016	Ordinary
Monday, 11 th April 2016	Ordinary
*Monday, 16 th May 2016	Ordinary
(*Meeting date changed due to MCC meeting on the 9 th May)	





*Monday, 20 th June 2016	Annual
(*Meeting date changed due to MCC meeting on the 13 th June)	
*Monday, 20 th June 2016	Ordinary
(*Meeting date changed due to MCC meeting on the 13 th June)	

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Signed:		
Cathaoir	leach	