



Ashbourne Municipal District

Annual Meeting

9.30a.m., 19th June 2017, Ashbourne Civic Offices

An Cathaoirleach, **Councillor Alan Tobin**, presided.

Councillors Present: Joe Bonner, Suzanne Jamal, Claire O'Driscoll, Darren O'Rourke, Seán Smith.

Officials in Attendance:

Head of Finance: Fiona Lawless

Meetings Administrator: Claire King Executive Engineer: Janet Murphy

Staff Officer: Triona Keating

The Cathaoirleach, Councillor Alan Tobin, opened the meeting by stating that it had been an honour for him to serve as Cathaoirleach and he highlighted the school visits, including work undertaken by Skryne N.S. on the traffic surveys and the entrepreneurial initiative in St. Declan's N.S. He also referred to the engagement with the community through their presentations and attendance at meetings. He thanked his Councillor colleagues for their cooperation throughout the year.

1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Seán Smith was proposed by Councillor Suzanne Jamal and seconded by Councillor Claire O'Driscoll.

Councillor Joe Bonner was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Darren O'Rourke.

As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joseph	J. Bonner
JAMAL, Suzanne	S. Smith





O'DRISCOLL, Claire	S. Smith
O'ROURKE, Darren	J. Bonner
SMITH, Seán	S. Smith
TOBIN, Alan	S. Smith

Result:

SMITH, Seán – 4 votes

BONNER, Joe - 2 votes

Councillor Seán Smith was declared elected and assumed the Chair.

The Cathaoirleach thanked the Councillors for their support and confirmed that he was looking forward to working collaboratively with both Councillors and the Executive during the coming year. He also thanked Councillor Alan Tobin for his hard work during the previous year. Councillors congratulated the new Cathaoirleach and thanked Councillor Tobin for his work during his term as Cathaoirleach.

2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Councillor Suzanne Jamal was proposed by Councillor Claire O'Driscoll and seconded by Councillor Alan Tobin.

Councillor Darren O'Rourke was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Darren O'Rourke.

As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joseph	J. Bonner
JAMAL, Suzanne	S. Jamal
O'DRISCOLL, Claire	S. Jamal
O'ROURKE, Darren	J. Bonner
SMITH, Seán	S. Jamal
TOBIN, Alan	S. Jamal





Result:

JAMAL, Suzanne – 4 votes

O'ROURKE, Darren - 2 votes

Councillor Suzanne Jamal was declared elected.

3 To agree the Schedule of Meetings

The following meeting dates were agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Alan Tobin** and seconded by **Councillor Claire O'Driscoll**.

Meetings will commence at **9.30 a.m.** on the following dates:

Date	Туре
Monday, 10 th July 2017	Ordinary
Monday, 11 th September 2017	Ordinary
Monday , 9 th October 2017	Ordinary
Monday, 13 th November 2017	Ordinary
Monday, 11 th December 2017	Ordinary
Monday, 15 th January 2018* (* Meeting date changed due to MCC meeting on 8 th January)	Ordinary
Monday, 12 th February 2018	Ordinary
Monday, 12 th March 2018	Ordinary
Monday, 16 th April 2018* (* Meeting date changed due to MCC meeting on 9 th April)	Ordinary
Monday, 21 st May 2018 (* Meeting date changed due to MCC meeting on 14 th May)	Ordinary





Monday, 18 th June 2018 (* Meeting date changed due to MCC meeting on 11 th June)	Annual
Monday, 18 th June 2018	Ordinary

This concluded the busine	ss of the meeting.		
Signed:			
Cathaoirleach			