



Annual Meeting 12th June 2017, Council Chamber

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Maria Murphy, presided.

Members Present:

Councillors, Joe Bonner, Sinéad Burke, Eugene Cassidy, Francis Deane, Seán Drew, Eimear Ferguson, Brian Fitzgerald, Padraig Fitzsimons, Enda Flynn, Wayne Forde, Joe Fox, Noel French, Michael Gallagher, David Gilroy, Trevor Golden, Johnny Guirke, Wayne Harding, Jim Holloway, Suzanne Jamal, Tom Kelly, Sharon Keogan, Nick Killian, Caroline Lynch, Stephen McKee, Ronan McKenna, Paddy Meade, Gerry O'Connor, Claire O' Driscoll, Damien O' Reilly, Darren O' Rourke, Joe Reilly, Sarah Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Seán Smith, Alan Tobin, Sharon Tolan, Gillian Toole.

Apologies: Councillor Maria O' Kane, Bryan Reilly

Officials in Attendance:

Chief Executive: Jackie Maguire

Directors of Service: Kevin Stewart, Fiona Lawless, Des Foley, Barry Lynch

Meetings' Administrator: Olive Falsey Senior Executive Officers: Larry Whelan

1.0 Election of Cathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach, **Councillor Maria Murphy** opened the meeting and reflected on her year as Cathaoirleach. She thanked Leas Chathaoirleach, Councillor Eugene Cassidy, for the support during the year and also acknowledged the cooperation of her fellow Councillors in the conduct of Council meetings. She made reference to the many opportunities and challenges that the role presented, including the interaction with the people of Meath and presiding over many of the 1916 commemorative events. She thanked the Chief Executive, and all the officials for their assistance and generosity throughout the year. The Councillors and the Chief Executive acknowledged the commitment of Councillor Murphy to the role of Cathaoirleach and the professional manner in which she had carried out the functions of the position.

The Cathaoirleach then invited nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach.

Councillor Gerry O' Connor was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by **Councillor Joe Fox** and seconded by **Councillor Francis Deane**.

Councillor Ronan McKenna was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by **Councillor Wayne Harding** and seconded by **Councillor Tommy Reilly**.





Councillor Darren O' Rourke was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by **Councillor Sinead Burke** and seconded by **Councillor Eimear Ferguson**.

A roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
Cllr. Joseph Bonner	Absent
Cllr. Sinead Burke	Cllr. Darren O' Rourke
Cllr. Eugene Cassidy	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Francis Deane	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Sean Drew	Clir. Ronan McKenna
Cllr. Eimear Ferguson	Cllr. Darren O' Rourke
Cllr. Padraig Fitzsimons	Cllr. Ronan McKenna
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Enda Flynn	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Wayne Forde	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Joe Fox	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Noel French	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Michael Gallagher	Cllr. Darren O' Rourke
Cllr. David Gilroy	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Trevor Golden	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Johnny Guirke	Cllr. Darren O' Rourke
Cllr. Wayne Harding	Cllr. Ronan McKenna
Cllr. James Holloway	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Suzanne Jamal	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Tom Kelly	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Sharon Keogan	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Nick Killian	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Caroline Lynch	Cllr. Darren O' Rourke
Cllr. Stephen McKee	Cllr. Ronan McKenna
Cllr. Ronan McKenna	Cllr. Ronan McKenna
Cllr. Paddy Meade	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Maria Murphy	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Gerry O' Connor	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Claire O' Driscoll	Cllr. Ronan McKenna
Cllr. Maria O' Kane	Absent
Cllr. Damien O' Reilly	Cllr. Ronan McKenna





Cllr. Darren O' Rourke	Cllr. Darren O' Rourke
Cllr. Bryan Reilly	Absent
Cllr. Joe Reilly	Cllr. Darren O' Rourke
Cllr. Sarah Reilly	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Tommy Reilly	Cllr. Ronan McKenna
Cllr. Sean Smith	Cllr. Ronan McKenna
Cllr. Alan Tobin	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Sharon Tolan	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor
Cllr. Gillian Toole	Cllr. Gerry O' Connor

Result: Cllr. Gerry o' Connor – 21, Cllr. Darren O' Rourke – 7, Cllr. Ronan McKenna – 9, Absent – 3

Councillor Gerry O' Connor was declared elected as Cathaoirleach of the Council and assumed the Chair.

The newly elected Cathaoirleach addressed the meeting, thanked those who voted for him, and stated that he looked forward to working with his fellow Councillors, the Chief Executive and the Management Team. He outlined that he looked forward to meeting the challenges and maximising the opportunities that the role would present in the coming year.

2.0 Election of Leas Chathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach then invited nominations for the position of Leas Chathaoirleach.

Councillor Francis Deane was proposed for the position of Leas Chathaoirleach on the proposal of **Councillor Brian Fitzgerald** and seconded by **Councillor Noel French**.

Councillor Sinead Burke was proposed for the position of Leas Chathaoirleach on the proposal of **Councillor Eimear Ferguson** and seconded by **Councillor Joe Reilly**.

Councillor Seán Smith was proposed for the position of Leas Chathaoirleach on the proposal of **Councillor Ronan McKenna** and seconded by **Councillor Claire O' Driscoll**.

A roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
Cllr. Joseph Bonner	Absent
Cllr. Sinead Burke	Cllr. Sinead Burke
Cllr. Eugene Cassidy	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Francis Deane	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Sean Drew	Cllr. Seán Smith
Cllr. Eimear Ferguson	Cllr. Sinead Burke





Cllr. Padraig Fitzsimons	Cllr. Seán Smith
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Enda Flynn	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Wayne Forde	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Joe Fox	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Noel French	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Michael Gallagher	Cllr. Sinead Burke
Cllr. David Gilroy	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Trevor Golden	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Johnny Guirke	Cllr. Sinead Burke
Cllr. Wayne Harding	Cllr. Seán Smith
Cllr. James Holloway	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Suzanne Jamal	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Tom Kelly	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Sharon Keogan	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Nick Killian	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Caroline Lynch	Cllr. Sinead Burke
Cllr. Stephen McKee	Cllr. Seán Smith
Cllr. Ronan McKenna	Cllr. Seán Smith
Cllr. Paddy Meade	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Maria Murphy	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Gerry O' Connor	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Claire O' Driscoll	Cllr. Seán Smith
Cllr. Maria O' Kane	Absent
Cllr. Damien O' Reilly	Cllr. Seán Smith
Cllr. Darren O' Rourke	Cllr. Sinead Burke
Cllr. Bryan Reilly	Absent
Cllr. Joe Reilly	Cllr. Sinead Burke
Cllr. Sarah Reilly	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Tommy Reilly	Cllr. Seán Smith
Cllr. Sean Smith	Cllr. Seán Smith
Cllr. Alan Tobin	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Sharon Tolan	Cllr. Francis Deane
Cllr. Gillian Toole	Cllr. Francis Deane

Result: Councillor Francis Deane – 21, Councillor Seán Smith – 9, Councillor Sinead Burke – 7, Absent – 3

Councillor Francis Deane was declared elected Leas Chathaoirleach of the Council.





3.0 Agree Schedule of Meetings

3.1 Proposed schedule

-	
Date:	Туре;
July 3rd 2017	Ordinary
September 4 th 2017	Ordinary
October 2nd 201	Ordinary
November 6 th 2017	Ordinary
December 4 th 2017	Ordinary
*January 8 th 2018	Ordinary
February 5 st 2018	Ordinary
March 5 th 2018	Ordinary
April 9 th 2018	
•	Ordinary
*May 14 th 2018	Ordinary
*June 11 th 2018	Annual & Ordinary

^{*}January Meeting – 8th due to Christmas/New Year Break

This concluded the business of the meeting.

^{*}April Meeting – 9th due to Easter

^{*}May Meeting –14th due to Bank holiday on the 7th

^{*}June Meeting – 11th due to Bank holiday on the 4th
Agreed on the proposal of Cathaoirleach and seconded by Councillor
Eugene Cassidy.