



Navan Municipal District

Annual Meeting

2.00 p.m., 14th June 2016, Navan Civic Offices

An Meára, **Councillor Francis Deane**, presided.

Councillors Present: Sinéad Burke, Padraig Fitzsimons, Wayne Forde, Jim Holloway, Joe Reilly, Tommy Reilly.

Officials in Attendance:

Director of Service: Kevin Stewart Meetings Administrator: Claire King Staff Officer: Triona Keating

The Mayor, Councillor Francis Deane, opened the meeting by thanking his Councillor colleagues, the executive and Municipal District staff for their support and work throughout the year. He welcomed the progress made in respect of the Navan Town Enhancement Scheme, thanked the IT Department for their work on the Mental Health App, which is due to launch in the Autumn, and referred to the Excellence in Sports Awards. He expressed his disappointment at the low level of social housing provision in Navan and the closure to the public of Navan Town Hall but hoped progress would be made on the Navan to Wilkinstown Greenway. He also thanked the staff in Navan Town Hall, the meeting administration staff and the media for their work during the year.

1 Election of Mayor / Meára

Councillor Tommy Reilly was proposed by Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons and seconded by Councillor Jim Holloway.

Councillor Sinéad Burke was proposed by Councillor Joe Reilly and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.

As there were two nominations for the position of Mayor, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:





Councillor	Vote
BURKE, Sinéad	S. Burke
DEANE, Francis	S. Burke
FITZSIMONS, Padraig	T. Reilly
FORDE, Wayne	T. Reilly
HOLLOWAY, Jim	T. Reilly
REILLY, Joe	S. Burke
REILLY, Tommy	T. Reilly

Result:

REILLY, Tommy – 4 votes

BURKE, Sinéad - 3 votes

Councillor Tommy Reilly was declared elected and assumed the Chair.

He thanked his Councillor colleagues and extended his sympathies to the people of London following recent tragic events and the family of the woman found in the Wicklow mountains. A minute's silence was held as a mark of respect.

2 Election of Deputy Mayor / Leas-Mheára

Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons was proposed by Councillor Jim Holloway and seconded by Councillor Tommy Reilly.

Councillor Sinéad Burke was proposed by Councillor Joe Reilly and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.

As there were two nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:





Councillor	Vote
BURKE, Sinéad	S. Burke
DEANE, Francis	S. Burke
FITZSIMONS, Padraig	P. Fitzsimons
FORDE, Wayne	P. Fitzsimons
HOLLOWAY, Jim	P. Fitzimons
REILLY, Joe	S. Burke
REILLY, Tommy	P. Fitzsimons

Result:

FITZSIMONS, Padraig – 4 votes BURKE, Sinéad - 3 votes

Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons was declared elected.

Kevin Stewart, on behalf of the staff, thanked Councillor Deane and Councillor Joe Reilly, as Deputy Mayor, for their work during the year and acknowledged the progress made and congratulated Councillors Reilly and Fitzsimons on their election. Councillors commended Councillor Deane on his term as Mayor and congratulated the incoming Mayor and Deputy Mayor on their election.

3 To agree the Schedule of Meetings

The following meeting dates were agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Joe Reilly** and seconded by **Councillor Francis Deane**.

Meetings will commence at **10.00 a.m.** on the following dates:

Date	Туре
Wednesday, 19 th July 2017	Ordinary
Wednesday, 20 th September 2017	Ordinary
Wednesday, 18 th October 2017	Ordinary
Wednesday, 22 nd November 2017	Ordinary
Wednesday, 20 th December 2017	Ordinary
Wednesday, 24 th January 2018	Ordinary
Wednesday, 21 st February 2018	Ordinary





Wednesday, 21 st March 2018	Ordinary
Wednesday, 18 th April 2018	Ordinary
Wednesday, 23 rd May 2018	Ordinary
Wednesday, 20 th June 2018	Annual
Wednesday, 20 th June 2018	Ordinary

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Signed:

An Meára