



Special Finance Meeting 11th September 2017, Council Chamber, 1.30pm

Presiding

Cathaoirleach, Councillor Gerry O' Connor

Councillors Present:

Councillors Joe Bonner, Sinéad Burke, Eugene Cassidy, Francis Deane, Seán Drew, Eimear Ferguson, Brian Fitzgerald, Joe Fox, Noel French, Michael Gallagher, David Gilroy, Trevor Golden, Johnny Guirke, Wayne Harding, Suzanne Jamal, Tom Kelly, Sharon Keogan, Nick Killian, Caroline Lynch, Ronan McKenna, Paddy Meade, Maria Murphy, Claire O' Driscoll, Maria O' Kane, Damien O' Reilly, Darren O' Rourke, Joe Reilly, Sarah Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Seán Smith, Alan Tobin, Sharon Tolan, Gillian Toole.

Apologies: Councillors Padraig Fitzsimons, Enda Flynn, Wayne Forde, Jim Holloway Stephen McKee, Bryan Reilly

Officials in attendance:

Chief Executive: Jackie Maguire

Directors of Service: Kevin Stewart, Fiona Lawless, Des Foley, Barry Lynch

Meetings Administrator: Olive Falsey

Accountants: Paul Timoney, Sheila Harkin

Senior Executive Officer: Larry Whelan, Dara McGowan

Finance Staff: Ger Soady, Administrative Officer, Ailie Dempsey

- To consider the report of the Chief Executive prepared in accordance with the provisions of the Local Property Tax (Local Adjustment Factor) Regulations 2014, for the purpose of resolving as follows:
 - a) Vary the basic rate and set a local adjustment factor that will apply for a period of one year from the next Local Property Tax liability date, or
 - b) Not vary the basic rate.





The Cathaoirleach opened the meeting and outlined that the Head of Finance would make a presentation, to be followed by questions/comments and that a vote would then be taken to 'Not Vary the Basic Rate'

Fiona Lawless, Head of Finance, made the presentation to Councillors, which included information on:

- Legislation, Regulations and Circulars re Budget 2018
- The background and process re the L.P.T Adjustment Factor
- Estimation of Income & Expenditure Schedule 1
- Financial Position of Meath County Council Schedule 2
- LPT Adjustment Factor
 - o Impact of change in LPT on a liable person.
 - o Impact on LPT Revenue 2018.
 - o Results of Public Consultation process.
 - o 2018 Allocation of LPT
 - o Gap in Preliminary Estimates.
 - o Impact of a 15% variation in the basic rate of LPT
- It was noted that the Minister and Revenue must be informed of the decision of the Council in relation to the LPT by 30th September.

Following the presentation, the Chief Executive advised that all the information had been presented in order that an informed decision could be made, but that any reduction in the basic rate of LPT would have a negative impact on the service delivery plans of the Council. The Chief Executive advised that it was her recommendation not to vary the basic rate of Local Property Tax.

The Cathaoirleach called for a recess of 10 minutes to allow Councillors have further discussions in relation to the matter.

On resumption of the meeting, Councillors raised a number of issues regarding the information presented and responses were provided by the Head of Finance, the Chief Executive and the Cathaoirleach.

It was agreed 'not vary the basic rate' as per item 1 (b) above, on the proposal of Councillor Sharon Tolan, seconded by Councillor Tom Kelly.

The proposal to 'not vary the basic rate' of the Local Property Tax was carried following a roll call vote as follows:

Councillor	For	Against	Abstain	Absent
Cllr. Joseph Bonner		AGAINST		
Cllr. Sinead Burke		AGAINST		
Cllr. Eugene Cassidy	FOR			





Councillor	For	Against	Abstain	Absent
Cllr. Francis Deane	FOR			
Cllr. Sean Drew	FOR			
Cllr. Eimear Ferguson		AGAINST		
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald	FOR			
Cllr. Padraig Fitzsimons				ABSENT
Cllr. Enda Flynn				ABSENT
Cllr. Wayne Forde				ABSENT
Cllr. Joe Fox	FOR			
Cllr. Noel French	FOR			
Cllr. Michael Gallagher		AGAINST		
Cllr. David Gilroy	FOR			
Cllr. Trevor Golden	FOR			
Cllr. Johnny Guirke		AGAINST		
Cllr. Wayne Harding	FOR			
Cllr. James Holloway				ABSENT
Cllr. Suzanne Jamal	FOR			
Cllr. Tom Kelly	FOR			
Cllr. Sharon Keogan	FOR			
Cllr. Nick Killian	FOR			
Cllr. Caroline Lynch		AGAINST		
Cllr. Stephen McKee				ABSENT
Cllr. Ronan McKenna	FOR			
Cllr. Paddy Meade	FOR			
Cllr. Maria Murphy	FOR			
Cllr. Gerry O' Connor	FOR			
Cllr. Claire O' Driscoll	FOR			
Cllr. Maria O' Kane		AGAINST		
Cllr. Damien O' Reilly	FOR			
Cllr. Darren O' Rourke		AGAINST		
Cllr. Bryan Reilly				ABSENT
Cllr. Joe Reilly		AGAINST		
Cllr. Sarah Reilly	FOR			
Cllr. Tommy Reilly	FOR			
Cllr. Sean Smith	FOR			
Cllr. Alan Tobin	FOR			
Cllr. Sharon Tolan	FOR			
Cllr. Gillian Toole	FOR			
Result	25	9		6





Result: For = 25, Against = 9, Absent = 6

It was therefore resolved not to vary the basic rate of Local Property Tax for 2017 in respect of residential properties in County Meath in accordance with the Finance (Local Property Tax) Act 2012, as amended.

This concluded the business of the meeting.