

# Ashbourne Municipal District

### **Annual Meeting**

# 10.00a.m., 17<sup>th</sup> June 2019, Ashbourne Civic Offices

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Alan Tobin, presided.

**Councillors Present**: Suzanne Jamal, Darren O'Rourke, Conor Tormey.

Apologies: Councillor Joe Bonner.

Officials in Attendance:

Head of Finance: Fiona Lawless

Meetings Administrator: Claire King

Executive Engineer: Mel Cronin
Staff Officer: Triona Keating

Clerical Officer: Edita Zolotuchina

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor Conor Tormey, welcomed all councillors back following the election and confirmed how he was looking forward to working together over the coming five years.

#### 1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Alan Tobin was proposed by Councillor Suzanne Jamal and seconded by Councillor Conor Tormey.

Councillor Darren O'Rourke was proposed by Councillor Darren O'Rourke and seconded by Councillor Alan Tobin.

As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:



Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joseph	Absent
JAMAL, Suzanne	Tobin, Alan
O'ROURKE, Darren	O'Rourke, Darren
TOBIN, Alan	Tobin, Alan
TORMEY, Conor	Tobin, Alan

### **RESULT:**

TOBIN, Alan - 3 votes

O'ROURKE, Darren - 1 vote

**Councillor Alan Tobin** was declared elected and assumed the chair. The Cathaoirleach thanked those who had supported him.

### 2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

**Councillor Conor Tormey** was elected on the proposal of Councillor Alan Tobin and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal.

# 3 To consider the election, appointment or nomination of Councillors to Local Bodies & Committees

3.1 Appointment of one Councillor from Ashbourne Municipal District to the Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee.

It was agreed to defer this to the July meeting.

3.2 Appointment of one Councillor from Ashbourne Municipal District to Meath Heritage Forum.



**Councillor Suzanne Jamal** was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Suzanne Jamal and seconded by Councillor Darren O'Rourke, subject to the role being inclusive of the position on the Steering Group for the Hill of Tara Conservation Management Plan.

3.3 Appointment of three Councillors from Ashbourne Municipal District to Knockharley Community Liaison Committee.

**Councillor Darren O'Rourke** was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Darren O'Rourke and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal.

**Councillor Suzanne Jamal** was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Darren O'Rourke and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal.

It was agreed to defer the appointment of the third councillor to the July meeting.

3.4 Appointment of one Councillor from Ashbourne Municipal District to Corporate Policy Group (CPG).

**Councillor Alan Tobin** was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Suzanne Jamal and seconded by Councillor Conor Tormey.

### 4 To agree the 2019-2020 Schedule of Meetings

Meetings will commence at **10.00 a.m.** on the following dates:

Date	Туре
Tuesday, 9 <sup>th</sup> July 2019	Ordinary
Tuesday, 10 <sup>th</sup> September 2019	Ordinary
Tuesday , 15 <sup>th</sup> October 2019	Ordinary
Tuesday, 12 <sup>th</sup> November 2019	Ordinary
Tuesday, 10 <sup>th</sup> December 2019	Ordinary
Tuesday, 14 <sup>th</sup> January 2020	Ordinary
Tuesday, 11 <sup>th</sup> February 2020	Ordinary



Tuesday, 10 <sup>th</sup> March 2020	Ordinary
Tuesday, 21 <sup>st</sup> April 2020	Ordinary
Tuesday, 12 <sup>th</sup> May 2020	Ordinary
Tuesday, 9 <sup>th</sup> June 2020	Annual & Ordinary

This was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Suzanne Jamal** and seconded by **Councillor Alan Tobin**.

### 5 Standing Orders

5.1 To adopt the Standing Orders for the meetings of Ashbourne Municipal District.

These were adopted on the proposal of **Councillor Suzanne Jamal** and seconded by **Councillor Alan Tobin**.

### 6 Any Other Business

6.1 To receive details of the recommended grant offer by the Knockharley Community Liaison Committee under the Knockharley Environmental Projects Grant Scheme and if in agreement to forward to the Full Council of Meath County Council for approval.

This was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Suzanne Jamal** and seconded by **Councillor Darren O'Rourke**.

6.2 To nominate three Councillors from Ashbourne Municipal District to attend the trip to  $Corcubion - 18^{th}$  to  $22^{nd}$  July.

It was agreed that Councillors Alan Tobin and Suzanne Jamal would participate in the trip with the third representative to be considered again at the July meeting.

### 6.3 Orientation for Councillors

Orientation for Councillors will take place on Friday, 21<sup>st</sup> June from 9.30am to 1.00pm in Buvinda House.



- 6.4 Councillor Alan Tobin raised the following issue:
  - 6.4.1 Requested an update on progress of the playground in the Linear Park it was confirmed that the contractors were back on site with a view to recommencing works next week.
- 6.5 Councillor Suzanne Jamal raised the following issue:
  - 6.5.1 Requested an update on the plan for Tara, where parking continues to cause issues it was confirmed that yellow hatching markings had been installed at the pedestrian gate and a disabled parking space marked out. It was agreed to provide a written update in advance of the July meeting.
- 6.6 Councillor Conor Tormey raised the following issue:
  - 6.6.1 Queried the moving of the fence at Deerpark it was confirmed that this was to facilitate the provision of a sensory garden and that there were currently no plans to replace the fence as the trees had matured.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Signed:		
Cathaoirleach		

Meath County Council Page 5 of 5 Corporate Services