



# Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District Annual Meeting

# 10.00a.m., 13<sup>th</sup> June 2019, Duleek Civic Offices

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Sharon Keogan, presided.

Councillors Present: Tom Behan, Wayne Harding, Annie Hoey, Paddy Meade, Stephen McKee,

Sharon Tolan.

Officials in Attendance:

Head of Finance: Fiona Lawless

Meetings Administrator: Claire King

Executive Engineer: Christy Clarke

**Staff Officer:** Triona Keating

Clerical Officer: Edita Zolotuchina

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor Wayne Harding, welcomed new councillors Annie Hoey and Tom Behan to the meeting and acknowledged how well the previous municipal district had worked. He referred to the trip to Dungarvan to visit the Waterford Greenway as being the highlight of his term as Cathaoirleach, underlining as it did the benefits that will accrue to the county and, in particular Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District, from the completion of the Boyne Greenway. He also acknowledged the work of the council staff, in particular the engineering and outdoor staff.

It was agreed that a letter of acknowledgement and thanks would issue to former councillors, Eimear Ferguson and Tom Kelly.

#### 1 Election of Cathaoirleach

**Councillor Sharon Keogan** was proposed by Councillor Sharon Tolan, seconded by Councillor Annie Hoey and was elected unopposed.

Councillor Keogan assumed the chair and thanked those who had proposed, seconded and supported her election to the chair, which she considered a great honour.

#### 2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach





Councillor Sharon Tolan was proposed by Councillor Paddy Meade and seconded by Councillor Stephen McKee.

Councillor Annie Hoey was proposed by Councillor Sharon Keogan and seconded by Councillor Wayne Harding.

As there were two nominations for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BEHAN, Tom	Hoey, Annie
HARDING, Wayne	Hoey, Annie
HOEY, Annie	Hoey, Annie
KEOGAN, Sharon	Hoey, Annie
McKEE, Stephen	Hoey, Annie
MEADE, Paddy	Tolan, Sharon
TOLAN, Sharon	Tolan, Sharon

#### **RESULT:**

TOLAN, Sharon - 2 votes

HOEY, Annie - 5 votes

Councillor Annie Hoey was declared elected.

# 3 To consider the election, appointment or nomination of Councillors to Local Bodies & Committees

3.1 Appointment of one Councillor from Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District to the Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee.

**Councillor Annie Hoey** was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Wayne Harding and seconded by Councillor Tom Behan.





3.2 Appointment of one Councillor from Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District to the Meath Heritage Forum.

**Councillor Annie Hoey** was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Sharon Keogan and seconded by Councillor Wayne Harding.

3.3 Appointment of two Councillors from Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District to the Indaver Community Liaison Committee.

Councillor Sharon Keogan was proposed by Councillor Annie Hoey and seconded by Councillor Sharon Keogan.

Councillor Stephen McKee was proposed by Councillor Wayne Harding and seconded by Councillor Tom Behan.

Councillor Paddy Meade was proposed by Councillor Paddy Meade and seconded by Councillor Sharon Tolan.

As there were three nominations for the two appointments to the Indaver Community Liaison Committee, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BEHAN, Tom	McKee, Stephen
HARDING, Wayne	McKee, Stephen
HOEY, Annie	Keogan, Sharon
KEOGAN, Sharon	Keogan, Sharon
McKEE, Stephen	McKee, Stephen
MEADE, Paddy	Meade, Paddy
TOLAN, Sharon	Meade, Paddy

#### **RESULT:**

KEOGAN, Sharon - 2 votes





McKEE, Stephen - 3 votes

MEADE, Paddy - 2 votes

Councillor Stephen McKee was declared appointed.

As two candidates remained with an equality of votes, the remaining position was decided by the drawing of lots, following which **Councillor Sharon Keogan** was declared appointed.

#### 4 To agree the 2019-2020 Schedule of Meetings

Date	Туре
Thursday, 11 <sup>th</sup> July 2019	Ordinary
Thursday, 12 <sup>th</sup> September 2019	Ordinary
Thursday, 17 <sup>th</sup> October 2019	Ordinary
Thursday, 14 <sup>th</sup> November 2019	Ordinary
Thursday, 12 <sup>th</sup> December 2019	Ordinary
Thursday, 16 <sup>th</sup> January 2020	Ordinary
Thursday, 13 <sup>th</sup> February 2020	Ordinary
Thursday, 5 <sup>th</sup> March 2020	Ordinary
Thursday, 16 <sup>th</sup> April 2020	Ordinary
Thursday, 14 <sup>th</sup> May 2020	Ordinary
Thursday, 11 <sup>th</sup> June 2020	Annual & Ordinary

This was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Sharon Tolan** and seconded by **Councillor Sharon Keogan.** 

It was agreed that the July meeting would commence at 10.00am, with a decision to be taken at that meeting with regard to the commencement time of future meetings.

#### 5 Standing Orders





5.1	To adopt the Standing Orders for the meetings of Laytown-Bettystown Municipa
	District.

These were adopted on the proposal of **Councillor Wayne Harding** and seconded by **Councillor Tom Behan** subject to the amendment of the meeting commencement time, to be agreed at the July meeting.

#### 6 Any Other Business

#### 6.1 Orientation for Councillors

Orientation for Councillors will take place on Friday, 21<sup>st</sup> June from 9.30am to 1.00pm in Buvinda House and some of the issues relating to IT, payment and expenses, etc. were outlined.

his concluded the business of the meeting.	
igned:	
Cathaoirleach	