

Navan Municipal District

Annual Meeting

10.00 a.m., 11th June 2019, Navan Civic Offices

An Meára, Councillor Tommy Reilly, presided.

Councillors Present: Yemi Adenuga, Francis Deane, Edward Fennessy, Padraig Fitzsimons, Alan

Lawes, Emer Tóibín.

Officials in Attendance:

Director of Service: Kevin Stewart

Meetings Administrator: Claire King

Executive Engineer: Paul O'Brien

Staff Officer: Triona Keating

Clerical Officer: Edita Zolotuchina

1 Election of Mayor / Meára

Councillor Tommy Reilly was proposed by Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons, seconded by Councillor Edward Fennessy and was elected unopposed. Councillor Reilly assumed the chair.

The Mayor thanked those who proposed and supported him for election to the position of Mayor. He welcomed both returning and new councillors and congratulated all staff, in particular Kevin Stewart, who had worked at the election count. He also acknowledged the work of the meeting administration staff and the municipal district engineering and outdoor staff, in particular Paul O'Brien. He referred to the many challenges facing those living within the municipal district and the need for progress on projects, including the rail line to Navan.

2 Election of Deputy Mayor / Leas-Mheára

Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons was proposed by Councillor Francis Deane, seconded by Councillor Edward Fennessy and was elected unopposed.



On behalf of the staff, Kevin Stewart congratulated Councillors Reilly and Fitzsimons on being elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor respectively. He referred to the progress being made on projects in the town, which, whilst presenting challenges, would ultimately benefit all those living in, working in and visiting the town.

3 To consider the election, appointment or nomination of Councillors to Local Bodies & Committees

3.1 Appointment of one Councillor from Navan Municipal District to the Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee.

Councillor Yemi Adenuga was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Emer Tóibín and seconded by Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons.

3.2 Appointment of one Councillor from Navan Municipal District to the Meath Heritage Forum.

Councillor Emer Tóibín was proposed by Councillor Yemi Adenuga and seconded by Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons.

Councillor Edward Fennessy was proposed by Councillor Tommy Reilly and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.

As there were two nominations for the appointment of one councillor to the Meath Heritage Forum, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
ADENUGA, Yemi	Tóibín, Emer
DEANE, Francis	Fennessy, Edward
FENNESSY, Edward	Fennessy, Edward
FITZSIMONS, Padraig	Fennessy, Edward
LAWES, Alan	Fennessy, Edward
REILLY, Tommy	Fennessy, Edward



TÓIBÍN, Emer	Tóibín, Emer

RESULT:

FENNESSY, Edward - 5 votes

TÓIBÍN, Emer - 2 votes

Councillor Edward Fennessy was declared appointed.

3.3 Appointment of five Councillors to the Navan Enterprise Centre Company Ltd.

Councillor Emer Tóibín was proposed by Councillor Tommy Reilly and seconded by Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons.

Councillor Edward Fennessy was proposed by Councillor Francis Deane and seconded by Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons.

Councillor Francis Deane was proposed by Councillor Edward Fennessy and seconded by Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons.

Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons was proposed by Councillor Edward Fennessy and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.

Councillor Alan Lawes was proposed by Councillor Tommy Reilly and seconded by Councillor Edward Fennessy.

Councillor Yemi Adenuga was proposed by Councillor Emer Tóibín and seconded by Councillor Tommy Reilly.

As there were six nominations for the appointment of five councillors to the Navan Enterprise Centre Company Ltd., Councillor Alan Lawes indicated his willingness to withdraw his name.



Councillors Emer Tóibín, Edward Fennessy, Francis Deane, Padraig Fitzsimons and Yemi Adenuga were declared appointed.

3.4 Appointment of three Councillors to the Navan Sports and Leisure Company.

Councillor Alan Lawes was proposed by Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.

Councillor Edward Fennessy was proposed by Councillor Tommy Reilly and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.

Councillor Yemi Adenuga was proposed by Councillor Edward Fennessy and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.

Councillor Emer Tóibín was proposed by Councillor Yemi Adenuga and seconded by Councillor Edward Fennessy.

As there were four nominations for the appointment of three councillors to the Navan Sports and Leisure Company, Councillor Yemi Adenuga indicated her willingness to withdraw her name.

Councillors Alan Lawes, Edward Fennessy and Emer Tóibín were declared appointed.

4 To agree the 2019-2020 Schedule of Meetings

Meetings will commence at **10.00 a.m.** on the following dates:

Date	Туре
Wednesday, 17 th July 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 18 th September 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 23 rd October 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 20 th November 2019	Ordinary
Wednesday, 18 th December 2019	Ordinary



Wednesday, 22 nd January 2020	Ordinary
Wednesday, 19 th February 2020	Ordinary
Wednesday, 25 th March 2020	Ordinary
Wednesday, 22 nd April 2020	Ordinary
Wednesday, 20 th May 2020	Ordinary
Wednesday, 17 th June 2020	Annual & Ordinary

This was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Francis Deane** and seconded by **Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons**.

It was also agreed that meetings of Navan Municipal District would continue to take place in Navan Civic Offices.

5 Standing Orders

5.1 To adopt the Standing Orders for the meetings of Navan Municipal District.

This item was deferred to the July meeting.

6 Any Other Business

6.1 Orientation for Councillors

Orientation for Councillors will take place on Friday, 21st June from 9.30am to 1.00pm in Buvinda House. Reference was also made to forthcoming meetings taking place on the County Development Plan review.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Signed:



An Meára