



Special Finance Meeting 28th September 2015, Council Chamber, 10.00 a.m.

Presiding

Cathaoirleach, Councillor Brian Fitzgerald

Councillors Present:

Councillors Joe Bonner, Sinéad Burke, Shane Cassells, Eugene Cassidy, Francis Deane, Seán Drew, Eimear Ferguson, Enda Flynn, Wayne Forde, Joe Fox, Noel French, Michael Gallagher, David Gilroy, Trevor Golden, Johnny Guirke, Wayne Harding, Jim Holloway, Tom Kelly, Sharon Keogan, Caroline Lynch, Stephen McKee, Paddy Meade, Maria Murphy, Gerry O'Connor, Claire O' Driscoll, Maria O' Kane, Darren O' Rourke, Joe Reilly, Sarah Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Seán Smith, Alan Tobin, Sharon Tolan, Gillian Toole.

Apologies: Councillors Suzanne Jamal, Nick Killian, Ronan McKenna, Damien O' Reilly, Bryan Reilly.

Officials in attendance:

Chief Executive: Jackie Maguire

Directors of Service: Kevin Stewart, Fiona Lawless, Des Foley

Meetings Administrator: Olive Falsey

Accountants: Paul Timoney, Sheila Harkin

Senior Executive Officer: Larry Whelan, Dara McGowan.

Finance Staff: Ger Soady, Michael Murtagh

- 1 To consider the report of the Chief Executive prepared in accordance with the provisions of the Local Property Tax (Local Adjustment Factor) Regulations 2014, for the purpose of resolving as follows:
 - a) Vary the basic rate and set a local adjustment factor that will apply for a period of one year from the next Local Property Tax liability date, or
 - b) Not vary the basic rate.





The Cathaoirleach opened the meeting and outlined that the Head of Finance would make a presentation, to be followed by questions/comments and that a vote would then be taken to 'Not Vary the Basic Rate'

Fiona Lawless, Head of Finance, made the presentation to Councillors, which included information on:

- Legislation, Regulations and Circulars re Budget 2016 •
- The background and process re the L.P.T Adjustment Factor •
- Estimation of Income & Expenditure Schedule 1 •
- Financial Position of Meath County Council Schedule 2 •
- Impact of change in LPT on a liable person, for householders and on Income ٠
- **Results of Public Consultation process** •
- 2016 Allocation of L.P.T •
- The effect on services
- LA Current Expenditure per Capita by County as a % of Total LA Current • Expenditure per Capita in 2015
- LA Expenditure per Capita in MCC as % of Total LA Expenditure per Capita Nationally 1996 to 2015
- Meath's Expenditure per capita by Service Division

Following the presentation, the Chief Executive advised that all the information had been presented in order that an informed decision could be made, but that any reduction in the basic rate of LPT would have a negative impact on the service delivery plans of the Council.

Councillors raised a number of issues regarding the information presented and responses were provided by the Head of Finance, the Chief Executive and the Cathaoirleach.

It was agreed to take a roll call vote to 'not vary the basic rate' as per item 1 (b) above, on the proposal of Councillor Gerry O' Connor, seconded by Councillor Francis Deane.

The proposal to 'not vary the basic rate' of the Local Property Tax was carried following a roll call vote as follows:





Councillor	For	Against	Abstain	Absent
Cllr. Joseph Bonner		AGAINST		
Cllr. Sinead Burke		AGAINST		
Cllr. Shane Cassells		AGAINST		
Cllr. Eugene Cassidy	FOR			
Cllr. Francis Deane	FOR			
Cllr. Sean Drew		AGAINST		
Cllr. Eimear Ferguson		AGAINST		
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald	FOR			
Cllr. Enda Flynn	FOR			
Cllr. Wayne Forde		AGAINST		
Cllr. Joe Fox	FOR			
Cllr. Noel French	FOR			
Cllr. Michael Gallagher		AGAINST		
Cllr. David Gilroy	FOR			
Cllr. Trevor Golden	FOR			
Cllr. Johnny Guirke		AGAINST		
Cllr. Wayne Harding		AGAINST		
Cllr. James Holloway	FOR			
Cllr. Suzanne Jamal				ABSENT
Cllr. Tom Kelly	FOR			
Cllr. Sharon Keogan	FOR			
Cllr. Nick Killian				ABSENT
Cllr. Caroline Lynch		AGAINST		
Cllr. Stephen McKee		AGAINST		
Cllr. Ronan McKenna				ABSENT
Cllr. Paddy Meade	FOR			
Cllr. Maria Murphy	FOR			
Cllr. Gerry O' Connor	FOR			
Cllr. Claire O' Driscoll		AGAINST		
Cllr. Maria O' Kane		AGAINST		
Cllr. Damien O' Reilly				ABSENT
Cllr. Darren O' Rourke		AGAINST		
Cllr. Bryan Reilly				ABSENT
Cllr. Joe Reilly		AGAINST		
Cllr. Sarah Reilly	FOR			
Cllr. Tommy Reilly				ABSENT
Cllr. Sean Smith		AGAINST		
Cllr. Alan Tobin	FOR			
Cllr. Sharon Tolan	FOR			





Councillor	For	Against	Abstain	Absent
Cllr. Gillian Toole	FOR			
Result	18	16		6

Result: For = 18, Against = 16, Absent = 6

It was therefore resolved not to vary the basic rate of Local Property Tax for 2016 in respect of residential properties in County Meath in accordance with the Finance (Local Property Tax) Act 2012, as amended.

This concluded the business of the meeting.