

Miontuairiscí/Meeting Minutes

Statutory Budget Meeting 16th December 2013, Council Chamber

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor John V. Farrelly, presided.

Members Present:

Councillors Joseph Bonner, Sirena Campbell, Willie Carey, Shane Cassells, Eugene Cassidy, Francis Deane, Ann Dillon–Gallagher, Jimmy Fegan, Brian Fitzgerald, Joe Fox, Oliver Fox, Wayne Harding, Jim Holloway, Eoin Holmes, Suzanne Jamal, Nick Killian, Noel Leonard, Tracy McElhinney, Niamh McGowan, Jenny McHugh, Maria Murphy, Gerry O' Connor, Bryan Reilly, Joe Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Catherine Yore.

Officials in Attendance:

County Manager: Jackie Maguire

Directors of Service: Kevin Stewart, Fiona Lawless, Tadhg McDonnell, Des Foley, Joe Fahy

(A).

Meetings Administrator Shane Donnelly

Senior Executive Officers: Michael Griffin, Larry Whelan,

Finance Staff: Paul Timoney, Sheila Harkin, Michael Murtagh, Ger Soady.

Administrative Officer: Olive Falsey

Apologies: Councillors Jimmy Cudden, Arian Keogan

1. That Meath County Council adopts, for the financial year ending 31st December 2014, the Annual Budget set out in Tables A – F.

The Cathaoirleach opened the meeting and it was noted that the Statutory Budget book including Tables A-F had been circulated to the Members in advance of the Preliminary Budget meeting. The County Manager addressed the meeting and reiterated that the budget has had to be prepared against a difficult economic situation. It was noted that the submission made to the Department had been recognised in that the Council had received a positive allocation of €8.8m. regarding the General Purpose Grant. The County Manager also advised that the Council had secured full funding from Irish Water for the provision of the Water Services programme in 2014. It was also noted that, despite the difficult circumstances, the Council would be in a position to make a similar level of investment in the operational programme, 2014, and in some cases a small increase in investment. It was noted that the proposed Budget also makes provision for the forthcoming fundamental change in Local Authorities with the implementation of the Putting People First Action Programme for Effective Local Government.

This includes:

• The transition of Town Councils into a single local authority structure.



Miontuairiscí/Meeting Minutes

- The implementation of an enhanced democratic structure at Municipal District level.
- The integration of a new business support structure into Meath through the creation of Local Enterprise Offices which will replace the existing County Enterprise Structure.
- Preparation for the 2014 Local Elections and making arrangements, which will see the election of 40 members to the Council.
- The re-location of the Council to new civic offices and the establishment of a new customer focused Headquarters.
- The alignment of local/community development within the Meath County Council through the creation of Local Community Development Committees which will replace the County Development Boards.
- Working with the new Irish Water Authority.

In summary, the County Manager advised that the prepared budget provides for expenditure of €97m. in 2014, and for a sixth consecutive year, commercial rates in the county would remain unchanged. The challenges of reducing staff and financial resources were noted. In recommending the budget to the Members, the County Manager noted that, in 2014, the focus would be on finding the best way of doing Council business and ensuring consistency across all operations.

Following the County Manager's address, Fiona Lawless, Head of Finance, recapped on some of the figures presented in the budget and a short discussion on the pertinent issues followed.

The proposed Budget as presented and the terms as set out in Items 1, 2 and 3 of the agenda was adopted on the proposal of **Councillor Willie Carey** and seconded by **Councillor Eoin Holmes**, following a role call vote:

Councillor	Vote
Cllr. Joseph Bonner	For
Cllr. Sirena Campbell	For
Cllr. William Carey	For
Cllr. Shane Cassells	For
Cllr. Eugene Cassidy	For
Cllr. Jimmy Cudden	Absent
Cllr. Francis Deane	For
Cllr. Ann Dillon-Gallagher	For
Cllr. John Farrelly	For
Cllr. Jimmy Fegan	For
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald	For





Miontuairiscí/Meeting Minutes

Cllr. Joe Fox	For
Cllr. Oliver Fox	For
Cllr. Wayne Harding	For
Cllr. James Holloway	For
Cllr. Eoin Holmes	For
Cllr. Suzanne Jamal	For
Cllr. Arian Keogan	Absent
Cllr. Nick Killian	For
Cllr. Noel Leonard	For
Cllr. Tracy McElhinney	For
Cllr. Niamh McGowan	For
Cllr. Jenny McHugh	For
Cllr. Maria Murphy	For
Cllr. Gerry O' Connor	For
Cllr. Bryan Reilly	For
Cllr. Joe Reilly	Against
Cllr. Tommy Reilly	For
Cllr. Catherine Yore	For

Result: For= 26, Against = 1, Absent = 2

- 2. That Meath County Council determines in accordance with the Budget as adopted the rate as set out in Table A and Column (7) of Table C to be the annual rate on valuation to be levied for the financial year ending 31st December 2014 for the purposes set out in Table A and Table C.
 - Approved on the proposal of **Councillor Willie Carey** and seconded by **Councillor Francis Deane**.
- That Meath County Council approves of the transfer to capital account of the sums provided for various capital purposes in the Annual Budget for 2014 as adopted. Approved on the proposal of Councillor Jim Holloway and seconded by Councillor Wayne Harding.
- 4. That Meath County Council approves the estimated over expenditure for financial year 31st December 2013 as set out in Table A F and outturn details. Approved on the proposal of Councillor Willie Carey and seconded by Councillor Jim Holloway.

This concluded the business of the meeting.