Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

Annual Meeting

04th July 2011, Council Chamber

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Ann Dillon-Gallagher, presided.

Members Present:

Councillors Sirena Campbell, Willie Carey, Shane Cassells, Eugene Cassidy, Jimmy Cudden, Francis Deane, John V Farrelly, Jimmy Fegan, Brian Fitzgerald, Joe Fox, Oliver Fox, Wayne Harding, Jim Holloway, Eoin Holmes, Suzanne Jamal, Nick Killian, Noel Leonard, Tracy McElhinney, Niamh McGowan, Jenny McHugh, Maria Murphy, Gerry O' Connor, Seamus O' Neill, Bryan Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Catherine Yore.

Apologies: Cllr. Joe Bonner and Cllr. Joe Reilly

Officials in Attendance:

County Manager: Tom Dowling

Directors of Service: Kevin Stewart, Tadhg McDonnell, Brendan McGrath, Fiona Lawless, Larry

Whelan

Meetings Administrator: Martin Rogers.

Senior Planners: Pat Gallagher,

Senior Executive Officers: Ger Murphy (A)

Administrative Officers: Olive Falsey

1. Election of Cathaoirleach

An Cathaoirleach, Ann Dillon Gallagher opened the meeting and thanked her fellow Councillors, the Co. Manager and all the officials for their help and generosity throughout the year. She reflected on her year as Cathaoirleach and gave a summary of the many events and community functions attended as a first citizen of the County.

The Members and the Co. Manager acknowledged the dignity and manner in which **Councillor Dillon Gallagher** had carried out the functions of the position of Cathaoirleach throughout the year.

Councillor Eoin Holmes was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by **Councillor Jenny McHugh** seconded by **Councillor John V. Farrelly**.

Councillor Wayne Harding was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by **Councillor Shane Cassells** and seconded by **Councillor Tommy Reilly**.

A role call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
Cllr. Joseph Bonner	Absent
Cllr. Sirena Campbell	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Willie Carey	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Shane Cassells	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Eugene Cassidy	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Jimmy Cudden	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Francis Deane	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Anne Dillon-Gallagher	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. John V Farrelly	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Jimmy Fegan	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Joe Fox	Eoin Holmes

Cllr. Oliver Fox	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Wayne Harding	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Jim Holloway	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Eoin Holmes	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Suzanne Jamal	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Nick Killian	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Noel Leonard	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Tracy McElhinney	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Niamh McGowan	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Jenny McHugh	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Maria Murphy	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Gerry O' Connor	Eoin Holmes
Cllr. Seamus O' Neill	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Bryan Reilly	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Joe Reilly	Absent
Cllr. Tommy Reilly	Wayne Harding
Cllr. Catherine Yore	Eoin Holmes

Result:

Councillor Holmes – 16

Councillor Harding - 11

Absent - 2

Councillor Eoin Holmes was declared elected by the Meetings' Administrator and assumed the Chair.

Cllr. Holmes addressed the meeting and stated that he looked forward to working with his fellow Councillors and the Management Team and lending support particularly to projects that encourage, facilitate and promote education in the County. He stressed the importance of providing family facilities and also the need to promote the County's heritage, tourism

and agri-business. He pointed out that with the pressures now on small and medium businesses the Council needed to be imaginative, supportive and creative going forward.

2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Councillor Eugene Cassidy, proposed by Councillor Tommy Reilly, seconded by Councillor Willie Carey, was elected unopposed.

3. Agree a Schedule of Meetings

The following schedule of meetings was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Shane Cassells** seconded by **Councillor Tommy Reilly.**

Meetings will commence at 2pm on the following dates:

Date:	Туре;
September 5 th 2011	Ordinary
October 3 rd . 2011	Ordinary
November 7 th . 2011	Ordinary
December 5 th 2011	Ordinary
*January 09 th 2012	Ordinary
February 6 th 2012	Ordinary
March 5 th 2012	Ordinary

April 2 nd . 2012	Ordinary
*May 14 th 2012	Ordinary
*June 11 th 2012	Ordinary
July 2 nd	Annual

^{*}January Meeting – 09th due to Christmas Holidays

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Meath County Council Page 5 of 5 Corporate Services

^{*}May Meeting - 14th due to Bank holiday on the 7th.

^{*}June Meeting – $\mathbf{11}^{\text{th}}$ due to Bank holiday on the $\mathbf{4}^{\text{th}}$