Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

Annual Meeting 2nd July 2012, Council Chamber

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Eoin Holmes, presided.

Members Present:

Councillors Sirena Campbell, Willie Carey, Shane Cassells, Eugene Cassidy, Jimmy Cudden, Francis Deane, Ann Dillon Gallagher, John V Farrelly, Jimmy Fegan, Brian Fitzgerald, Joe Fox, Oliver Fox, Wayne Harding, Jim Holloway, Suzanne Jamal, Nick Killian, Noel Leonard, Tracy McElhinney, Niamh McGowan, Jenny McHugh, Maria Murphy, Gerry O' Connor, Seamus O' Neill, Bryan Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Joe Reilly, Catherine Yore, Joseph Bonner

Apologies:

Officials in Attendance:

County Manager: Tom Dowling

Directors of Service: Kevin Stewart, Tadhg McDonnell, Brendan McGrath, Fiona Lawless, Des Foley.

Meetings Administrator: Ger Murphy Senior Executive Officers: Larry Whelan

Administrative Officers: Olive Falsey, Jimmy Young (A)

1. Election of Cathaoirleach

An Cathaoirleach, **Councillor Eoin Holmes** opened the meeting and reflected on his year as Cathaoirleach. He highlighted his experience of working closely with the County Manager and wished it noted that the County Manager's role in both leading his Management Team and working with the elected Councillors has resulted in the delivery of quality services to the citizens of County Meath. He thanked fellow Councillors, and all the officials for their help, assistance and generosity throughout the year. He gave a summary of the many events and community functions attended as first citizen of the County. He thanked the Leas Cathaoirleach, **Councillor Eugene Cassidy** for his friendship and support throughout the year.

The Councillors and the County Manager acknowledged the commitment of Councillor Holmes to his role as Cathaoirleach and the professional manner in which he had carried out the functions of the position of Cathaoirleach.

Councillor Niamh McGowan was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by Councillor Jenny Mc Hugh seconded by Councillor John V. Farrelly.

Councillor Jimmy Fegan was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by Councillor Shane Cassells and seconded by Councillor Tommy Reilly.

A role call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
Cllr. Joseph Bonner	Absent
Cllr. Sirena Campbell	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Willie Carey	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Shane Cassells	Cllr. Jimmy Fegan
Cllr. Eugene Cassidy	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Jimmy Cudden	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Francis Deane	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Anne Dillon-Gallagher	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. John V Farrelly	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Jimmy Fegan	Cllr. Jimmy Fegan
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Joe Fox	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Oliver Fox	Cllr. Jimmy Fegan
Cllr. Wayne Harding	Cllr. Jimmy Fegan
Cllr. Jim Holloway	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Eoin Holmes	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Suzanne Jamal	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Nick Killian	Cllr. Jimmy Fegan
Cllr. Noel Leonard	Cllr. Jimmy Fegan
Cllr. Tracy McElhinney	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Niamh McGowan	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Jenny McHugh	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Maria Murphy	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Gerry O' Connor	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Seamus O' Neill	Cllr. Niamh McGowan
Cllr. Bryan Reilly	Cllr. Jimmy Fegan
Cllr. Joe Reilly	Abstain
Cllr. Tommy Reilly	Cllr. Jimmy Fegan
Cllr. Catherine Yore	Cllr. Niamh McGowan

Result:

- Councillor McGowan 19
- Councillor Fegan 8
- Absent − 1
- Abstain 1

Councillor Niamh McGowan was declared elected by the Meetings' Administrator and assumed the Chair.

Cllr. McGowan addressed the meeting and stated that she looked forward to working with her fellow Councillors and the Management Team particularly on the County Development Plan 2013 - 2019, and also to advance the work in further developing County Meath to be a county that businesses want to locate and where people want to live.

2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Councillor Jimmy Fegan, proposed by Councillor Shane Cassells and seconded by Councillor Tommy Reilly, was elected unopposed.

3. Agree a Schedule of Meetings

The following schedule of meetings was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Noel Leonard** seconded by **Councillor Wayne Harding**.

Meetings will commence at 2.00pm on the following dates:

Date:	Type;
September 3 rd 2012	Ordinary
~-F	J = J
October 1 st 2012	Ordinary
November 5 th 2012	Ordinary
December 3 rd 2012	Ordinary
*January 14 th 2013	Ordinary
February 4 th 2013	Ordinary
oth	
March 4 th 2013	Ordinary
*April 8 th 2013	Ordinary
*May 13 th 2013	Ordinary
*June 10 th 2013	Ordinary
July 1 st 2013	Annual

^{*}January Meeting – 14th due to Christmas Holidays

This concluded the business of the meeting.

^{*}April Meeting – 8th due to Easter Holidays

^{*}May Meeting - 13th due to Bank holiday on the 6th

^{*}June Meeting – 10th due to Bank holiday on the 3rd