



Annual Meeting 1st July 2013, Council Chamber

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Niamh McGowan, presided.

Members Present:

Councillors Joseph Bonner, Sirena Campbell, Willie Carey, Shane Cassells, Eugene Cassidy, Jimmy Cudden, Francis Deane, Ann Dillon Gallagher, Eoin Holmes, John V Farrelly, Jimmy Fegan, Brian Fitzgerald, Joe Fox, Oliver Fox, Wayne Harding, Jim Holloway, Suzanne Jamal, Nick Killian, Noel Leonard, Tracy McElhinney, Jenny McHugh, Maria Murphy, Gerry O' Connor, Bryan Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Joe Reilly, Catherine Yore.

Apologies: Arian Keogan

Officials in Attendance:

County Manager: Jackie Maguire

Directors of Service: Kevin Stewart, Tadhg McDonnell, Fiona Lawless, Des Foley.

Meetings Administrator: Olive Falsey

Senior Executive Officers: Larry Whelan, Michael Griffin

1.0 Election of Cathaoirleach

An Cathaoirleach, **Councillor Niamh McGowan** opened the meeting and reflected on her year as Cathaoirleach. She referred to the many opportunities that her role presented including the interaction with the people of Meath and the promotion of business in the County. She acknowledged the work of the Council and staff on the delivery of quality services and particularly on the delivery of a new County Development Plan for Meath. She thanked the County Manager, the former two Managers and all the officials for their help, assistance and generosity throughout the year. She thanked fellow Councillors and the Leas Cathaoirleach, Jimmy Fegan, for their support and cooperation. The Councillors and the County Manager acknowledged the commitment of Councillor McGowan to her role as Cathaoirleach and the professional manner in which she had carried out the functions of the position.

Councillor John V. Farrelly was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by Councillor Willie Carey seconded by Councillor Eoin Holmes.

Councillor Nicholas Killian was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by Councillor Shane Cassells and seconded by Councillor Noel Leonard.





A roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
Cllr. Joseph Bonner	Absent
Cllr. Sirena Campbell	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Willie Carey	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Shane Cassells	Cllr. Nick Killian
Cllr. Eugene Cassidy	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Jimmy Cudden	Abstain
Cllr. Francis Deane	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Anne Dillon-Gallagher	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. John V Farrelly	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Jimmy Fegan	Cllr. Nick Killian
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald	Abstain
Cllr. Joe Fox	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Oliver Fox	Cllr. Nick Killian
Cllr. Wayne Harding	Cllr. Nick Killian
Cllr. Jim Holloway	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Eoin Holmes	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Suzanne Jamal	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Arian Keogan	Absent
Cllr. Nick Killian	Cllr. Nick Killian
Cllr. Noel Leonard	Cllr. Nick Killian
Cllr. Tracy McElhinney	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Niamh McGowan	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Jenny McHugh	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Maria Murphy	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Gerry O' Connor	Cllr. John V. Farrelly
Cllr. Bryan Reilly	Cllr. Nick Killian
Cllr. Joe Reilly	Abstain
Cllr. Tommy Reilly	Cllr. Nick Killian
Cllr. Catherine Yore	Cllr. John V. Farrelly

Result: Councillor Farrelly - 16

Councillor Killian – 8

Absent - 2

Abstain - 3





Councillor John Farrelly was declared elected and assumed the Chair.

Cllr. Farrelly addressed the meeting and stated that he looked forward to working with his fellow Councillors and the Management Team. He said that he looked forward to continuing to promote and develop County Meath as a preferred businesses location and a place where people would choose to live.

2.0 Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Councillor Maria Murphy was proposed for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach on the proposal of **Councillor Ann Dillon-Gallagher** and seconded by **Councillor Gerry O' Connor**. **Councillor Wayne Harding** was proposed for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach on the proposal of **Councillor Shane Cassells** and seconded by **Councillor Jimmy Fegan**. A roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
Cllr. Joseph Bonner	Absent
Cllr. Sirena Campbell	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Willie Carey	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Shane Cassells	Cllr. Wayne Harding
Cllr. Eugene Cassidy	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Jimmy Cudden	Cllr. Wayne Harding
Cllr. Francis Deane	Abstain
Cllr. Anne Dillon-Gallagher	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. John V Farrelly	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Jimmy Fegan	Cllr. Wayne Harding
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald	Abstain
Cllr. Joe Fox	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Oliver Fox	Cllr. Wayne Harding
Cllr. Wayne Harding	Cllr. Wayne Harding
Cllr. Jim Holloway	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Eoin Holmes	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Suzanne Jamal	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Arian Keogan	Absent
Cllr. Nick Killian	Cllr. Wayne Harding
Cllr. Noel Leonard	Cllr. Wayne Harding
Cllr. Tracy McElhinney	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Niamh McGowan	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Jenny McHugh	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Maria Murphy	Cllr. Maria Murphy





Cllr. Gerry O' Connor	Cllr. Maria Murphy
Cllr. Bryan Reilly	Cllr. Wayne Harding
Cllr. Joe Reilly	Abstain
Cllr. Tommy Reilly	Cllr. Wayne Harding
Cllr. Catherine Yore	Cllr. Maria Murphy

Result:

Councillor Maria Murphy - 15

Councillor Wayne Harding - 9

Absent – 2

Abstain - 3

Councillor Maria Murphy was declared elected Leas Cathaoirleach. She addressed the meeting and thanked fellow Councillors for their support and stated that she looked forward to assisting the Cathaoirleach when requested to do so during his term.

3.0 Agree Schedule of Meetings

3.1 Proposed schedule

Date:	Туре;
September 2 nd 2013	Quarterly
October 7 th 2013	Ordinary
November 4 th 2013	Ordinary
December 2 nd 2013	Quarterly
*January 13 th 2014	Ordinary
February 3 rd 2014	Ordinary
March 3 rd 2014	Quarterly
April 7 th 2014	Ordinary
**May 12 th 2014	Ordinary
**June 9 th 2014	Quarterly
July 7 th 2014	Ordinary





- *January Meeting 13th due to Christmas/New Year Break
- *May Meeting 12th due to Bank holiday on the 5th
- *June Meeting 9th due to Bank holiday on the 2nd
- ** Meeting dates in respect of May and June are indicative only and will depend on date of Local Elections 2014

Agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Willie Carey** and seconded by **Councillor Joe Fox.**

This concluded the business of the meeting.