



## Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

## **Ordinary Meeting**

# 24th February 2020, Council Chamber @ 4.30p.m.

#### Presiding

Councillor Wayne Harding, Cathaoirleach

#### **Councillors Present:**

Councillors Yemi Adenuga, Tom Behan, Francis Deane, Eddie Fennessy, Brian Fitzgerald, Joe Fox, Noel French, Michael Gallagher, David Gilroy, Trevor Golden, Wayne Harding, Annie Hoey, Sharon Keogan, Nick Killian, Alan Lawes, Paul McCabe, Stephen McKee, Paddy Meade, Gerry O'Connor, Aisling O'Neill, Damien O'Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Amanda Smith, Niamh Souhan, Sharon Tolan, Gillian Toole,

**Apologies:** Councillors Joe Bonner, Mike Bray, Eugene Cassidy, Aisling Dempsey, Seán Drew, Padraig Fitzsimons, Deirdre Geraghty-Smith, Suzanne Jamal, Ronan Moore, Maria Murphy, Sarah Reilly, Alan Tobin, Emer Tóibín, Conor Tormey.

#### Officials in attendance:

Chief Executive: Jackie Maguire

Directors of Service: Des Foley, Fiona Lawless, Barry Lynch, Kevin Stewart

**Meetings Administrator:** Robert Collins

Senior Executive Officers: Dara McGowan

 To fill the casual vacancies (2 No.) in the Membership of Meath County Council, following the election of Councillors Johnny Guirke (Kells Municipal District) and Darren O'Rourke (Ashbourne Municipal District) to Dáil Éireann, in accordance with Section 19 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended.

In opening the meeting, the Cathaoirleach outlined that the purpose of the Special Meeting was to fill two casual vacancies in the Membership of Meath County Council created by the election of Councillors Johnny Guirke (Kells Municipal District) and Darren O'Rourke (Ashbourne Municipal District) to Dáil Éireann on 8<sup>th</sup> February 2020. The Cathaoirleach informed the meeting that the casual vacancies would be filled by co-option in accordance with the provisions of Section 19 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended, with due notice having been given in accordance with the Act.





## Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

The Cathaoirleach invited proposals for the Kells Municipal District first.

Mr. Micheal Gallagher was proposed by **Councillor Edward Fennessy** and seconded by **Councillor Alan Lawes.** The Cathaoirleach confirmed that Mr. Gallagher had given written consent in advance to his nomination to fill the casual vacancy created by Councillor Guirke.

Councillor Michael Gallagher took his seat in the Chamber.

The Cathaoirleach invited proposals for the Ashbourne Municipal District.

Ms. Aisling O'Neill was proposed by **Councillor Edward Fennessy** and seconded by **Councillor Alan Lawes.** The Cathaoirleach confirmed that Ms. O'Neill had given written consent in advance to her nomination to fill the casual vacancy created by Councillor O'Rourke.

**Councillor Aisling O'Neill** took her seat in the Chamber.

Both Councillors Gallagher and O'Neill gave a short opening speech. The following members addressed the meeting: Councillors Gerry O'Connor; Brian Fitzgerald; Damien O'Reilly; Paul McCabe; Noel French; Alan Lawes and Sharon Keogan. They welcomed the new members, congratulated those elected and commiserated with those that lost their seats or were not successful in the recent General Election. Mr. Darren O'Rourke T.D. addressed the meeting and thanked his former colleagues and the executive and wished the new members well during their term on the Council.