

## **Ashbourne Municipal District**

#### **Annual Meeting**

## 10.00a.m., 9<sup>th</sup> June 2020, County Hall, Navan

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Conor Tormey, presided.

Councillors Present: Joe Bonner, Suzanne Jamal, Aisling O'Neill, Amanda Smith, Conor Tormey.

Officials in Attendance:

Senior Executive Officer: Dara McGowan

Meetings Administrator: Claire King

Executive Engineer: Mel Cronin

Staff Officer: Triona Keating

Clerical Officer: Edita Zolotuchina

Apologies: Fiona Lawless, Director of Service

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor Alan Tobin, noted the progress that had been made in Ashbourne over the preceding year, including the opening of the playground in the Linear Park. He expressed hope that the events to celebrate Ashbourne 2020 could recommence before the end of the year. Councillors congratulated Councillor Tobin on his term as Cathaoirleach and acknowledged his commitment to the role.

#### 1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Conor Tormey was proposed by Councillor Amanda Smith and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal.

Councillor Joe Bonner was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal.

Councillor Aisling O'Neill was proposed by Councillor Aisling O'Neill and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal.



As there were three nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote		
BONNER, Joseph	Bonner, Joe		
JAMAL, Suzanne	Tormey, Conor		
O'NEILL, Aisling	O'Neill, Aisling		
SMITH, Amanda	Tormey, Conor		
TOBIN, Alan	Tormey, Conor		
TORMEY, Conor	Tormey, Conor		

#### **RESULT:**

BONNER, Joe - 1 vote

O'NEILL, Aisling - 1 vote

TORMEY, Conor - 4 votes

**Councillor Conor Tormey** was declared elected and assumed the chair. The Cathaoirleach thanked those who had supported him in his election. It was agreed that the Protocol Committee would be requested to consider the provision of a more appropriate chain of office for the Cathaoirleach of the municipal district.

#### 2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

**Councillor Suzanne Jamal** was elected on the proposal of Councillor Amanda Smith and seconded by Councillor Alan Tobin.

# 3 To consider the election, appointment or nomination of Councillors to Local Bodies & Committees

3.1 Appointment of one Councillor from Ashbourne Municipal District to the Corporate



Policy Group (CPG).

**Councillor Alan Tobin** was elected on the proposal of Councillor Conor Tormey and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal.

#### 4 To agree the 2020-2021 Schedule of Meetings

Meetings will commence at **10.00 a.m.** on the following dates:

Municipal District:	Time:	Venue: TBC County Hall		
Ashbourne	10.00am	Chamber/Ashbourne Civic Offices		
Date		Туре		
Tuesday, 7 <sup>th</sup> July 2020		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 8 <sup>th</sup> September 2020		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 6 <sup>th</sup> October 2020		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 3 <sup>rd</sup> November 2020		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 8 <sup>th</sup> December 2020		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 12 <sup>th</sup> January 2021		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 2 <sup>nd</sup> February 2021		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 2 <sup>nd</sup> March 2021		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 13 <sup>th</sup> April 2021		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 11 <sup>th</sup> May 2021		Ordinary		
Tuesday, 15 <sup>th</sup> June 2021		Annual		
Tuesday, 15 <sup>th</sup> June 2021		Ordinary		

Councillor Alan Tobin requested that meetings be held in Ashbourne Civic Offices - it was confirmed that all municipal district meetings are taking place in County Hall until such time as public health guidance permitted their return to the civic offices.

The meeting schedule for 2020-2021 was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Amanda Smith** and seconded by **Councillor Suzanne Jamal**.



It was pointed out that the revised Standing Orders would be brought to the July meeting for adoption to take account of the new meeting schedule.

This concluded the busi	ness of the meeting.		
Signed:			
Cathaoirleach			

Meath County Council Page 4 of 4 Corporate Services