



Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District Annual Meeting

10.00a.m., 11th June 2019, County Hall, Navan

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Tom Behan, presided.

Councillors Present: Wayne Harding, Geraldine Keogan, Paddy Meade, Elaine McGinty, Stephen

McKee, Sharon Tolan.

Officials in Attendance:

Senior Executive Officer: Dara McGowan

Meetings Administrator: Claire King Executive Engineer: Christy Clarke

Staff Officer: Triona Keating

Clerical Officer: Edita Zolotuchina

Apologies: Fiona Lawless, Director of Service

In the absence of a sitting Cathaoirleach, Dara McGowan opened the meeting and welcomed all present, including Councillors Geraldine Keogan and Elaine McGinty. Best wishes were extended to former councillors Annie Hoey and Sharon Keogan following their election to the Seanad.

1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Sharon Tolan was proposed by Councillor Paddy Meade and seconded by Councillor Sharon Tolan.

Councillor Tom Behan was proposed by Councillor Wayne Harding and seconded by Councillor Geraldine Keogan.

As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BEHAN, Tom	Behan, Tom





HARDING, Wayne	Behan, Tom
KEOGAN, Geraldine	Behan, Tom
MCGINTY, Elaine	Behan, Tom
MCKEE, Stephen	Behan, Tom
MEADE, Paddy	Tolan, Sharon
TOLAN, Sharon	Tolan, Sharon

RESULT:

BEHAN, Tom - 5 votes

TOLAN, Sharon - 2 votes

Councillor Tom Behan was declared elected and assumed the chair. He thanked his councillor colleagues who had supported him in being elected Cathaoirleach, congratulated former councillors Annie Hoey, Sharon Keogan and Shane Cassells on their election to the Seanad and, whilst acknowledging the inevitable challenges in the immediate future, committed his support for local businesses and the community. He also congratulated outgoing Cathaoirleach of Meath County Council, Councillor Wayne Harding, on his achievements throughout the year.

2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Councillor Paddy Meade was proposed by Councillor Sharon Tolan and seconded by Councillor Paddy Meade.

Councillor Elaine McGinty was proposed by Councillor Paddy Meade and seconded by Councillor Stephen McKee.

As there were two nominations for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BEHAN, Tom	McGinty, Elaine





HARDING, Wayne	McGinty, Elaine
KEOGAN, Geraldine	McGinty, Elaine
MCGINTY, Elaine	McGinty, Elaine
MCKEE, Stephen	McGinty, Elaine
MEADE, Paddy	Meade, Paddy
TOLAN, Sharon	Meade, Paddy

RESULT:

MCGINTY, Elaine - 5 votes

MEADE, Paddy - 2 votes

Councillor Elaine McGinty was declared elected.

- 3 To consider the election, appointment or nomination of Councillors to Local Bodies & Committees
 - 3.1 Appointment of one Councillor from Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District to the Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee.
 - **Councillor Elaine McGinty** was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Wayne Harding and seconded by Councillor Geraldine Keogan.
 - 3.2 Appointment of one Councillor from Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District to the Meath Heritage Forum.
 - **Councillor Elaine McGinty** was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Wayne Harding and seconded by Councillor Geraldine Keogan.
 - 3.3 Appointment of one Councillor from Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District to the Indaver Community Liaison Committee.





Councillor Geraldine Keogan was proposed by Councillor Elaine McGinty and seconded by Councillor Wayne Harding.

Councillor Paddy Meade was proposed by Councillor Paddy Meade and seconded by Councillor Sharon Tolan.

As there were two nominations for the appointment to the Indaver Community Liaison Committee, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BEHAN, Tom	Keogan, Geraldine
HARDING, Wayne	Keogan, Geraldine
KEOGAN, Geraldine	Keogan, Geraldine
MCGINTY, Elaine	Keogan, Geraldine
MCKEE, Stephen	Keogan, Geraldine
MEADE, Paddy	Meade, Paddy
TOLAN, Sharon	Meade, Paddy

RESULT:

KEOGAN, Geraldine - 5 votes

MEADE, Paddy - 2 votes

Councillor Geraldine Keogan was declared appointed.

3.4 Appointment of one Councillor from Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District to the Corporate Policy Group.

Councillor Wayne Harding was proposed by Councillor Wayne Harding and seconded by Councillor Geraldine Keogan.

Councillor Sharon Tolan was proposed by Councillor Paddy Meade and seconded by Councillor Sharon Tolan.





As there were two nominations for the appointment to Corporate Policy Group, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BEHAN, Tom	Harding, Wayne
HARDING, Wayne	Harding, Wayne
KEOGAN, Geraldine	Harding, Wayne
MCGINTY, Elaine	Harding, Wayne
MCKEE, Stephen	Harding, Wayne
MEADE, Paddy	Tolan, Sharon
TOLAN, Sharon	Tolan, Sharon

RESULT:

HARDING, Wayne - 5 votes

TOLAN, Sharon - 2 votes

Councillor Wayne Harding was declared appointed.

4 To agree the 2020-2021 Schedule of Meetings

Meetings will commence at 9.30a.m. on the following dates:

Municipal District:	Time:	Venue: TBC County Hall Chamber /
Laytown - Bettystown	9.30am	Duleek Civic Offices
		_
Date		Туре
Thursday, 9th July 2020		Ordinary
(To commence at 10.00am)		
Thursday, 10th September 2020		Ordinary
Thursday, 8th October 2020		Ordinary





Thursday, 5th November 2020	Ordinary
Thursday, 10th December 2020	Ordinary
Thursday, 14th January 2021	Ordinary
Thursday, 4th February 2021	Ordinary
Thursday, 4th March 2021	Ordinary
Thursday, 15th April 2021	Ordinary
Thursday, 13th May 2021	Ordinary
Thursday, 17th June 2021	Annual
Thursday, 17th June 2021	Ordinary

This was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Sharon Tolan** and seconded by **Councillor Paddy Meade.**

This concluded the business of the meeting.
Signed:
Cathaoirleach