



## Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

# Special Meeting

# 8<sup>th</sup> June 2020, Solstice Theatre @ 10.30a.m.

### Presiding

Councillor Wayne Harding, Cathaoirleach

#### **Councillors Present:**

Councillors Yemi Adenuga, Tom Behan, Joe Bonner, Mike Bray, Eugene Cassidy, Francis Deane, Aisling Dempsey, Seán Drew, Edward Fennessy, Brian Fitzgerald, Padraig Fitzsimons, Joe Fox, Noel French, Michael Gallagher, Trevor Golden, Wayne Harding, Suzanne Jamal, Geraldine Keogan, Nick Killian, Alan Lawes, Paul McCabe, Elaine McGinty, Stephen McKee, Paddy Meade, Ronan Moore, Maria Murphy, Gerry O'Connor, Aisling O'Neill, Damien O'Reilly, Sarah Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Amanda Smith, Niamh Souhan, Alan Tobin, Emer Tóibín, Sharon Tolan, Gillian Toole, Conor Tormey.

**Apologies:** Councillors Deirdre Geraghty-Smith, Alan Lawes

#### Officials in attendance:

Chief Executive: Jackie Maguire

Directors of Service: Des Foley, Fiona Lawless, Barry Lynch, Kevin Stewart

Meetings Administrator: Robert Collins

Senior Executive Officers: Larry Whelan

1. That Meath County Council determines, in accordance with its Standing Orders, that its June Meetings (Special, Annual General and Ordinary) and future meetings during the Covid-19 period of restrictions shall be held in the Solstice Theatre, Navan or other such venues, to allow for physical distancing and to comply with the latest public health advice.

This was agreed on a proposal by **Councillor Tommy Reilly** and seconded by **Councillor Brian Fitzgerald.** 

2. To fill the casual vacancies (2 No.) in the Membership of Meath County Council, following the election of Councillors Annie Hoey (Laytown/Bettystown Municipal District) and Sharon Keogan (Laytown/Bettystown Municipal District) to Seanad Éireann, in accordance with Section 19 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended.





### Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

The Cathaoirleach outlined that two casual vacancies in the Membership of Meath County Council were created by the election of Councillors Annie Hoey (Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District) and Sharon Keogan (Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District) to Seanad Éireann in April. The Cathaoirleach informed the meeting that the casual vacancies would be filled by co-option in accordance with the provisions of Section 19 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended, with due notice having been given in accordance with the Act.

The Cathaoirleach invited proposals for the seat vacated by Councillor Hoey first.

Ms. Elaine McGinty was proposed by Councillor Brian Fitzgerald and seconded by Councillor Nick Killian. The Cathaoirleach confirmed that Ms. McGinty had given written consent in advance to her nomination to fill the casual vacancy created by Councillor Hoey.

Councillor Elaine McGinty took her seat in the Chamber.

The Cathaoirleach invited proposals for the seat vacated by Councillor Keogan.

Ms. Geraldine Keogan was proposed by Councillor Brian Fitzgerald and seconded by Councillor Trevor Golden. The Cathaoirleach confirmed that Ms. Keogan had given written consent in advance to her nomination to fill the casual vacancy created by Councillor Keogan.

Councillor Geraldine Keogan took her seat in the Chamber.

Both Councillors McGinty and Keogan gave a short opening speech. The Cathaoirleach and Chief Executive welcomed the new two members and looked forward to working with them in the years ahead.

In concluding the meeting, the Cathaoirleach thanked Director of Services, Kevin Stewart for his 43 years of public service, much of which was spent in Meath County Council. Mr. Stewart will retire on June 14, 2020 and the Council meeting is his last official engagement. The Cathaoirleach also thanked Mr. Pat Gallagher, Senior Planner, who also retired in May.

The following members expressed their thanks and good wishes to Pat Gallagher and Kevin Stewart, in particular: Councillors: Sarah Reilly; Joe Fox; David Gilroy; Brian Fitzgerald; Sharon Tolan; Yemi Adenuga; Gerry O'Connor; Eugene Cassidy; Stephen McKee; Paul McCabe; Suzanne Jamal; Sean Drew; Alan Tobin; Conor Tormey; and Padraig Fitzsimons. The Chief Executive also expressed her appreciation for the work, achievements and friendship of Kevin Stewart and Pat Gallagher and wished them long, happy and healthy retirements.

Mr Stewart addressed the meeting and thanked the Elected Members for their kind words and expressed his pride on 43 years of public service and his time in Meath County Council.