



Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

Navan Municipal District

Annual Meeting

10.00 a.m., 23rd June 2021, County Hall, Navan

An Meára, Councillor Francis Deane, presided.

Councillors Present: Yemi Adenuga, Francis Deane, Edward Fennessy, Padraig Fitzsimons, Alan Lawes, Emer Tóibín.

Officials in Attendance:

Director of Service: Martin Murray Meetings Administrator: Claire King Executive Engineer: Shane Durcan Staff Officer: Triona Keating Clerical Officer: Edita Asaciova

The Mayor, Councillor Francis Deane, opened the meeting by acknowledging the challenges of the past year and thanked the executive for their help. He welcomed the regeneration plan for Flower Hill and Spicers and the upgrade works on the Ramparts and the future development of the Greenway. He thanked all community and voluntary groups for their work on the frontline during Covid.

1 Election of Mayor / Meára

Councillor Padraig Fitzsimons, proposed by Councillor Tommy Reilly and seconded by Councillor Francis Deane, was elected unopposed and assumed the chair.

Councillors congratulated Councillor Fitzsimons on his election, acknowledging his family's long tradition in politics. Councillor Fitzsimons thanked his councillor colleagues for their support and confirmed that he was looking forward to working with councillors and officials in the coming year. He commended the outgoing mayor and deputy mayor on their term during what was a difficult year. He also recognised the contribution of those who had passed away since he last held the position in 2009. He recognised the support of his family, including that of his late father.





Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

He identified a number of issues that he hoped to focus on in the coming year including improving access and facilities in Blackwater Park, the provision of the Navan rail line, the advancement of the Navan 2030 scheme, the regeneration plans for Flower Hill and the progress being made in respect of housing provision at Fearganstown, the LDR4 and the Greenways.

2 Election of Deputy Mayor / Leas-Mheára

Councillor Tommy Reilly, proposed by Councillor Francis Deane and seconded by Councillor Edward Fennessy, was elected unopposed.

Councillor Tommy Reilly thanked councillors for their support and expressed the hope that all councillors would work together for the benefit of the town and county.

3 To agree the 2021-2022 Schedule of Meetings

Meetings will commence at 10.00 a.m. on the following dates:

Municipal District: Navan	Venue: County Hall Chamber / Zoom /
	Navan Civic Offices
Date	Туре
Wednesday, 14 th July 2021	Ordinary
Wednesday, 15 th September 2021	Ordinary
Wednesday, 13 th October 2021	Ordinary
Wednesday, 10 th November 2021	Ordinary
Wednesday, 15 th December 2021	Ordinary
Wednesday, 19 th January 2022	Ordinary
Wednesday, 16 th February 2022	Ordinary
Wednesday, 23 rd March 2022 (changed	Ordinary
due to St. Patrick's Day)	
Wednesday, 13 th April 2022	Ordinary
Wednesday, 18 th May 2022	Ordinary
Wednesday, 22 nd June 2022	Annual
Wednesday, 22 nd June 2022	Ordinary





Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

This was agreed on the proposal of Councillor Francis Deane and seconded by Councillor Tommy Reilly.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Signed:

An Meára