



Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

Special Meeting

30th August 2021, via Zoom @ 10.00a.m.

Presiding

Councillor Sean Drew, Cathaoirleach

Councillors Present:

Councillors Yemi Adenuga, Tom Behan, Joe Bonner, Mike Bray, Eugene Cassidy, Francis Deane, Aisling Dempsey, Edward Fennessy, Brian Fitzgerald, Padraig Fitzsimons, Joe Fox, Noel French, Michael Gallagher, Deirdre Geraghty-Smith, David Gilroy, Trevor Golden, Wayne Harding, Suzanne Jamal, Geraldine Keogan, Nick Killian, Alan Lawes, Paul McCabe, Elaine McGinty, Stephen McKee, Paddy Meade, Ronan Moore, Maria Murphy, Gerry O'Connor, Damien O'Reilly, Sarah Reilly, Tommy Reilly, Amanda Smith, Alan Tobin, Emer Tóibín, Sharon Tolan, Gillian Toole, Conor Tormey.

Apologies: Councillor Aisling O'Neill, Niamh Souhan,

Officials in attendance:

Chief Executive: Jackie Maguire

Directors of Service: Des Foley, Fiona Lawless, Barry Lynch, Martin Murray, Dara McGowan

Meetings Administrator: Robert Collins

Financial Management Accountant: Sheila Harkin

1 Confirmation of Minutes

1.1 To consider the report of the Chief Executive prepared in accordance with the provisions of the Local Property Tax (Local Adjustment Factor)(Amendment) Regulations 2021

For the purpose of resolving as follows:

- Vary the basic rate and set a local adjustment factor that will apply for a period of one year from the next Local Property Tax liability date, or
- b. Not vary the basic rate.

An Cathaoirleach welcomed the elected members and other participants to the meeting and set out the key directions for remote meetings to be observed by all. He handed over to the Chief Executive who introduced the report and outlined the key changes in terms of the Local Property Tax (LPT). She also set out the context within which the preparation of Budget 2022 will take place in terms of the uncertainty caused by the pandemic to the rates base and the collection rates and the other challenges that will arise.





Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

The Head of Finance made a presentation on the Local Property Tax (LPT) and its contribution to the Council's overall budget. She outlined the statutory process involved in agreeing the Local Adjustment Factor, including a public consultation process which was undertaken during July. The elected members were informed of their reserved function in terms of varying or otherwise the local adjustment factor, by increasing up to 15% or decreasing by as much as 15%. Ms. Lawless provided some detail on the valuation bands, the proposed changes to these and what that would mean for householders in terms of paying LPT. The presentation also outlined the Equalisation Fund, which resulted in 20% of the tax collected in the county (approximately €3.5m) going into this Fund. The report of the Chief Executive recommended that the basic rate of the LPT for 2021-2022 be increased by 15%, to help address the impact on the Council's financial situation arising from the Covid emergency and also to maintain core services and existing service levels.

A number of elected members spoke in response to the presentation. These included: Councillors: Alan Lawes; Gillian Toole; Alan Tobin; Gerry O'Connor; Brian Fitzgerald; Ronan Moore; Elaine McGinty; Mike Bray; Paddy Meade; Eddie Fennessy; Nick Killian and David Gilroy. Some members sought clarification on points such as: the proposed changes in the LPT announced in June, the discretionary spend, potential savings in 'Other Expenditure', the consultation process and the potential loss of income from new properties not liable for the LPT. Other members called for the Baseline Review to be implemented, a change to the Equalisation Fund process, with other critical of the Government's approach. Most members that spoke suggested that the basic rate should not be varied in order to protect services and provide for the growing population of the county, with Cllr Fennessy calling for a 15% decrease. In response, Cllr Gilroy asked what projects/services should be cut to accommodate such a decrease. An Cathaoirleach also spoke regarding a new model for equalisation and supporting the call for greater budgetary transparency in terms of how/where the LPT is spent within the Council budget.

On a proposal of **Councillor Damien O'Reilly** and seconded by **Councillor Gillian Toole**, An Cathaoireach put the resolution before members to not vary the basic rate of the Local Property Tax and a role call vote was taken as follows:

	Vary	Not Vary	Abstain	Absent
ADENUGA, Yemi		Х		
BEHAN, Tom		X		
BONNER, Joseph		Х		
BRAY, Mike		Х		
CASSIDY, Eugene		Х		
DEANE , Francis		Х		
DEMPSEY , Aisling		X		
DREW , Sean		X		
FENNESSY, Eddie	х			
FITZGERALD, Brian		Х		
FITZSIMONS, Padraig				Х
FOX, Joe		Х		





Miontuairiscí / Meeting Minutes

FRENCH, Noel		X	
GALLAGHER, Michael	Х		
GERAGHTY-SMITH, Deirdre		Х	
GILROY, David		Х	
GOLDEN, Trevor		Х	
HARDING, Wayne		Х	
JAMAL, Suzanne		Х	
KEOGAN, Geraldine		Х	
KILLIAN, Nick		Х	
LAWES, Alan	Х		
MC CABE, Paul		Х	
MC GINTY, Elaine		Х	
MC KEE, Stephen		Х	
MEADE, Paddy		Х	
MOORE, Ronan		Х	
MURPHY, Maria		Х	
O'CONNOR, Gerry		Х	
O'NEILL, Aisling			Х
O'REILLY, Damien		Х	
REILLY, Sarah		Х	
REILLY, Tommy		Х	
SMITH, Amanda		Х	
SOUHAN, Niamh			Х
TOBIN, Alan		Х	
TÓIBÍN, Emer		Х	
TOLAN, Sharon		Х	
TOOLE, Gillian		Х	
TORMEY, Conor			Х

Result: To vary the basic rate = 3 vote; To not vary = 33 votes; Not Present = 4

The Elected Members therefore resolved to not vary the basic rate, for a period of one year from the next Local Property Tax liability date.

2 Any Other Business

Councillor Gillian Toole asked about future meetings and how these would be organised. An Cathaoirleach confirmed that the September Monthly meeting will be an online only meeting and informed the members that the CPG would meet on September 3rd and would further consider the meeting arrangements.

The meeting concluded at 11.10am.