



# Ashbourne Municipal District Annual Meeting

## 10.00a.m., 20th June 2023, Ashbourne Civic Offices (and via Zoom)

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Amanda Smith, presided.

**Councillors Present**: Joe Bonner, Suzanne Jamal, Alan Tobin, Conor Tormey.

Officials in Attendance:

Senior Executive Officer: Elaine Daly

Meetings Administrator: Áine Bird

Executive Engineer: Mel Cronin

Staff Officer: Triona Keating

The Executive advised that there was no statutory impediment as to why the meeting cannot be held in hybrid format due to the exceptional case requested by Councillor Tormey. On the advice of the Executive, it was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal to hold the meeting in hybrid form.

The Cathaoirleach welcomed everyone to the meeting and said it was a pleasure and a privilege to serve as Cathaoirleach. She thanked everyone for help and assistance during the year.

#### 1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Alan Tobin was proposed by Councillor Suzanne Jamal and seconded by Councillor Conor Tormey.

Councillor Joe Bonner was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Amanda Smith.

As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:





Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joseph	Bonner, Joseph
JAMAL, Suzanne	Tobin, Alan
SMITH, Amanda	Bonner, Joseph
TOBIN, Alan	Tobin, Alan
TORMEY, Conor	Tobin, Alan

#### **RESULT:**

TOBIN, Alan – 3 votes

BONNER, Joseph - 2 votes

**Councillor Alan Tobin** was declared elected and assumed the chair. The Cathaoirleach thanked those who nominated him. He said they had a very busy year ahead and he hoped to see the same key infrastructural projects continue.

On behalf of the Executive, Elaine Daly thanked Councillor Smith for her hard work throughout the year.

Councillors commended Councillor Smith on how she represented the Municipal District and for all her good work during her term.

Following Councillor Aisling O'Neill's retirement from the council, members commended her on the exceptional work she did for her area and wished her well in the future.

#### 2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Councillor Conor Tormey was proposed by Councillor Alan Tobin and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal.

Councillor Joe Bonner was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Suzanne Jamal.



As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joseph	Bonner, Joseph
JAMAL, Suzanne	Tormey, Conor
SMITH, Amanda	Tormey, Conor
TOBIN, Alan	Tormey, Conor
TORMEY, Conor	Tormey, Conor

#### **RESULT:**

TORMEY, Conor – 4 votes

BONNER, Joseph - 1 votes

Councillor Conor Tormey was declared elected.

**Councillor Tormey** congratulated the Cathaoirleach on his election and thanked the members for accommodating him with the holding of the meeting in hybrid format. The members wished Councillor Tormey a speedy recovery.

#### 3 To agree the 2022-2023 Schedule of Meetings

Meetings will commence at **10.00 a.m.**, unless otherwise stated, on the following dates:

Date	Туре	
Tuesday, 4 <sup>th</sup> July 2023	Ordinary	
Tuesday, 5 <sup>th</sup> September 2023	Ordinary	
Tuesday, 3 <sup>rd</sup> October 2023	Ordinary	
Thursday, 2 <sup>nd</sup> November at 11.30 a.m.	Pre Budget-Meeting to be held in the Swift Room, Buvinda House	
Tuesday, 7 <sup>th</sup> November 2023	Ordinary	





Tuesday, 5 <sup>th</sup> December 2023	Ordinary
Tuesday, 9 <sup>th</sup> January 2024	Ordinary
Tuesday, 13 <sup>th</sup> February 2024	Ordinary
Tuesday, 5 <sup>th</sup> March 2024	Ordinary
Tuesday, 9 <sup>th</sup> April 2024	Ordinary
Tuesday, 14 <sup>th</sup> May 2024	Ordinary
June 2024 (Date to be agreed following Local Elections)	Annual
June 2024	Ordinary

The meeting schedule for 2023-2024 was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Suzanne Jamal** and seconded by **Councillor Amanda Smith**.

This concluded the business of the meeting at 10.15am.

Cathaoirleac	h	