



Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District Annual Meeting

10.00a.m., 15th June 2023, Duleek Civic Offices

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Wayne Harding, presided.

Councillors Present: Tom Behan, Geraldine Keogan, Paddy Meade, Elaine McGinty, Stephen McKee, Sharon Tolan.

Officials in Attendance:

Officials in Attendance:

Director of Service: Dara McGowan **Executive Engineer**: Christy Clarke **Meetings Administrator**: Aine Bird

Staff Officer: Triona Keating

The Cathaoirleach opened the meeting The Cathaoirleach opened the meeting by thanking everyone for their support throughout the year. He had a very good year and the highlight for him was the sod turning for Bettystown Library. He welcomed Dara McGowan as the new Area Manager and thanked Fiona Lawless for all she did for Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District during her time as Area Manager. He said it was a very proud time for her in her new position as Chief Executive and he wished her well.

The members congratulated Councillor Harding on his year and commended him on his work.

Dara McGowan on behalf of the executive thanked Councillor Harding for his work during the year and on behalf of Fiona Lawless expressed her thanks to all the members for the last 12 years.

1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Stephen McKee was proposed by Councillor Geraldine Keogan and seconded by Councillor Stephen McKee.





Councillor Paddy Meade was proposed by Councillor Paddy Meade and seconded by Councillor Sharon Tolan.

As there were two nominations for the position of-Chathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BEHAN, Tom	McKee, Stephen
HARDING, Wayne	McKee, Stephen
KEOGAN, Geraldine	McKee, Stephen
MCGINTY, Elaine	Abstain
MCKEE, Stephen	McKee, Stephen
MEADE, Paddy	Meade, Paddy
TOLAN, Sharon	Meade, Paddy

RESULT:

McKee, Stephen - 4 votes

Meade, Paddy- 2 votes

Councillor Stephen McKee was declared elected and assumed the chair. He thanked those who nominated him. He thanked his wife and family for their support. He said it was a priviledge and an honour to be given this role and he hopes to represent the whole area as best he can as Cathaoirleach. He welcomed Dara McGowan as the new Area Manager.

2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Councillor Geraldine Keogan was proposed by Councillor Wayne Hading and seconded by Councillor Tom Behan.

Councillor Sharon Tolan was proposed by Councillor Sharon Tolan and seconded by Councillor Paddy Meade.

As there were two nominations for the position of-Leas Chathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:





Councillor	Vote
BEHAN, Tom	Keogan, Geraldine
HARDING, Wayne	Keogan, Geraldine
KEOGAN, Geraldine	Keogan, Geraldine
MCGINTY, Elaine	Keogan Geraldine
MCKEE, Stephen	Keogan Geraldine
MEADE, Paddy	Tolan, Sharon
TOLAN, Sharon	Tolan, Sharon

RESULT:

Keogan, Geraldine - 5 votes

Tolan, Sharon – 2 votes

Councillor Geraldine Keogan was declared elected.

3 To agree the 2023-2024 Schedule of Meetings

Meetings will commence at **10.00a.m.** on the following dates:

Thursday, 6 th July 2023	Ordinary
Thursday, 7 th September 2023	Ordinary
Thursday, 5 th October 2023	Ordinary
Wednesday, 1 st November, 2023	Pre Budget Meeting to be held in
	the Swift Room, Buvinda House
Thursday, 9 th November 2023	Ordinary
Thursday, 7 th December 2023	Ordinary
Thursday, 11 th January 2024	Ordinary
Thursday, 15 th February 2024	Ordinary
Thursday, 7 th March 2024	Ordinary
Thursday, 11 th April 2024	Ordinary
Thursday, 16 th May 2024	Ordinary
June 2024 (Date to be agreed	Annual
following Local Elections)	
June 2024	Ordinary





This was agreed on the proposal of Councillor Paddy Meade and seconded by Councillor Sharor
Tolan.
This concluded the business of the meeting.
Signed:
Cathaoirleach