



Ratoath Municipal District

Annual Meeting

9.30a.m., 14th June 2023, Dunshaughlin Civic Offices

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Gillian Toole presided.

Councillors Present: Brian Fitzgerald, Deirdre Geraghty-Smith, Nick Killian, Maria Murphy, Gerry O'Connor and Damien O'Reilly.

Officials in Attendance:

Director of Service: Dara McGowan **Meetings Administrator:** Áine Bird **Executive Engineer:** Philip Traynor

Staff Officer: Triona Keating

The Cathaoirleach opened the meeting by thanking the members for giving her the opportunity to sit in the seat as Cathaoirleach for the past year. During her time she had four sod turnings and 2 ceremonies. She thanked all the staff including the outdoor staff for their work throughout the year.

On behalf of the executive, Dara McGowan thanked Councillor Toole for her work throughout the year.

Councillors commended Councillor Toole on her term.

1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Damien O'Reilly was proposed by Councillor Nick Killian and seconded by Councillor Brian Fitzgerald.

Councillor Maria Murphy was proposed by Councillor Gerry O'Connor and seconded by Councillor Maria Murphy.

As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:





Councillor	Vote	
FITZGERALD, Brian	O'Reilly, Damien	
GERAGHTY-SMITH, Deirdre	O'Reilly, Damien	
KILLIAN, Nick	O'Reilly, Damien	
MURPHY, Maria	Murphy, Maria	
O'CONNOR, Gerry	Murphy, Maria	
O'REILLY, Damien	O'Reilly, Damien	
TOOLE, Gillian	O'Reilly, Damien	

RESULT:

O'REILLY, Damien - 5 votes

MURPHY, Maria - 2 votes

Councillor Damien O'Reilly was declared elected and assumed the chair. The Cathaoirleach thanked everyone for their support. He indicated that he would use the agenda to benefit the whole area and outlined the importance to bring deputations to the meetings whether they be Communities or Multi-Nationals.

2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Councillor Brian Fitzgerald was proposed by Councillor Nick Killian and seconded by Councillor Gillian Toole.

Councillor Gerry O'Connor was proposed by Councillor Maria Murphy and seconded by Councillor Gerry O'Connor.

As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:



Councillor	Vote	
FITZGERALD, Brian	Fitzgerald, Brian	
GERAGHTY-SMITH, Deirdre	Fitzgerald, Brian	
KILLIAN, Nick	Fitzgerald, Brian	
MURPHY, Maria	O'Connor, Gerry	
O'CONNOR, Gerry	O'Connor, Gerry	
O'REILLY, Damien	Fitzgerald, Brian	
TOOLE, Gillian	Fitzgerald, Brian	

RESULT:

FITZGERALD, Brian - 5 votes

O'CONNOR, Gerry - 2 votes

Councillor Brian Fitzgerald was declared elected.

3 To agree the 2023-2024 Schedule of Meetings

Meetings will commence at **9.30 a.m.** on the following dates:

Date	Туре	
Wednesday, 5th July 2023	Ordinary	
Wednesday, 6th September 2023	Ordinary	
Wednesday, 4th October 2023	Ordinary	
Wednesday, 1st November 2023	Pre Budget Meeting to be held in the Swift Room, Buvinda House	
Wednesday, 8th November 2023	Ordinary	
Wednesday, 6th December 2023	Ordinary	
Wednesday, 10th January 2024	Ordinary	
Wednesday, 14th February 2024	Ordinary	
Wednesday, 6th March 2024	Ordinary	
Wednesday, 10th April 2024	Ordinary	
Wednesday, 15th May 2024	Ordinary	
June 2024	Annual	
June 2024 (Date to be agreed following Local Elections)	Ordinary	





A short discussion followed on the possible change of the meeting dates. It was agreed that the matter would be brought to the next Protocol meeting and that the July meeting would take place on Wednesday, 5th July at 9.30 a.m. as scheduled.

This concluded the business of the meeting.	
Signed:	
Cathaoirleach	