Electoral Areas / Municipal Districts

Electoral Areas / Municipal Districts

Your County Councillors are elected on the basis of Local Electoral Areas; there are 6 in County Meath.

Local Electoral Areas

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government is responsible for dividing each county and city into electoral areas (also referred to as local electoral areas) for the purposes of local elections. Generally, a number of electoral divisions, which are smaller areas, are grouped to form an electoral area.

Municipal Districts

Municipal districts correspond to Electoral Areas. Councillors are elected simultaneously to both every 5 years and exercise responsibilities at both municipal and County level. Thus allowing for County level and more local municipal district level decisions to made in separate forums.

Local Electoral Areas / Municipal Districts in Meath

There are six Local Electoral Areas / Municipal Districts in Meath as shown in the map below.

Each of these is further subdivided into electoral divisions. Electoral divisions are referred to by their established statutory names. In some cases, these names differ from addresses and place names currently used.


Electoral divisions: Ardmulchan, Donaghmore, Kentstown, Kilbrew, Rathfeigh, Skreen, Stamullin, Tara:
Those parts of the electoral division of Ardcath not contained in the local electoral area of Laytown-Bettystown;
And those parts of the electoral division of Ratoath to the east of a line drawn along the M2 motorway.
Number of seats: 6


Electoral divisions: An Ráth Mhór, Ardagh, Baile Atha Buí, Ballinlough, Balrathboyne, Boherboy, Burry, Carrickleck, Castlekeeran, Castletown, Ceannas Mór Rural (part), Ceanannas Mór Urban, Crossakeel, Crosskeys, Cruicetown, Domhnach Phádraig, Drumcondra, Girley, Grennanstown, Killallon, Killeagh, Kilmainham, Kilskeer, Knocklough, Loughan, Maperath, Martry, Moybolgue, Moylagh, Moynalty, Newcastle, Newtown, Nobber, Oldcastle, Posseckstown, Rathkenny, Staholmog, Stonefield,Tailtin and Trohanny.
Number of seats: 7

Laytown – Bettystown

Electoral divisions: Duleek, Grangeeth, Julianstown, Killary, Mellifont, Painestown, Slane, St Mary’s (part) and Stackallan;
And those parts of the electoral divsion of Ardcath north of a line drawn as follows;
Commencing at the intersection of the boundary between the townlands of Bellewstown and Prioryland with the R152 road and then proceeding in a north-easterly direction along the R152 road to its intersection with the R150 road; then proceeding in an easterly direction along the R150 road to its intersection with the boundary between the electoral division of Ardcath and Duleek.
Number of seats: 7


Electoral divisions: Ardbraccan, Bective, Navan Rural and Navan Urban
Number of seats: 7


Electoral divisions: Culmullin, Dunboyne, Dunshaughlin, Killeen, Kilmessan, Kilmore, Rodanstown;
And those parts of the electoral division of Ratoath not contained in the local electoral area of Ashbourne.
Number of seats: 7


Electoral divisions: Ardnamullan, Ballyboggan, Ballyconnell, Castlejordan, Castlerickard, Cill Bhríde, Cloghbrack, Clonmacduff, Gallow, Galtrim, Hill of Down, Innfield, Kilcooly, Kildalkey, Killaconnigan, Killyon, Laracor, Rahinstown, Rathmolyon, Summerhill, Trim Rural and Trim Urban.
Number of seats: 6