Smokey Coal Ban

Smokey Coal Ban

The ban on smoky coals is intended to improve air quality and protect human health by replacement with smokeless fuels in urban areas. This ban specifically relates to bituminous or smoky products i.e. Polish or Texan Coals, Singles, Doubles & Slack etc.

The Air Pollution Act (Marketing, Sale, Distribution and Burning of Specified Fuels) Regulations 2012, designated the following areas as a ‘Smoky Coal Ban Specified Area’:

  • Navan Town and Environs from the 1st May 2013. 
  • Drogheda Town has been extended to include Mornington, Bettystown and Laytown from 10th September 2012.
  • Ashbourne from the 1st September 2020

It is now ILLEGAL to burn or for a Coal Merchant to sell you bituminous coal (Smoky/Polish Coal) within the restricted area of Navan and the extended Drogheda area.

There is a large selection of high quality smokeless products available. Smokeless coals will ensure better air quality, and improved health in our Urban Environment. If you are able to purchase a banned fuel within the Smokeless Zone then this means that the trader is breaking the law and impacting on the livelihoods of legal traders. If you buy and burn smoky coal, you are breaking the law and you could be fined with a fixed payment notice, (Spot Fine), of  between €250 and €1000 for alleged offences.

For further information contact the Environment Section, County Hall, Railway St, Navan, Co Meath. Phone: (046) 9097200 or visit

Further information is available through

Interactive map which shows boundaries with the suppliers

To comply with the ban – simply burn smokeless products!