Pride of Place - Ashbourne Municipal District Awards Night


Pride of Place - Ashbourne Municipal District Awards Night

Volunteer of the Year - Liam McCarthy

The Ashbourne Municipal District Pride of Place awards were held in the Ashbourne Civic Offices on Tuesday night, 29th October, 2019. Chairperson of Ashbourne Municipal District, Cllr Alan Tobin warmly welcomed the guests, which included local Councillors and representatives from 31 local groups. Cllr Tobin congratulated all the groups present on their achievements over the last 12 months which demonstrates a real pride the people of Ashbourne Municipal District have in their locality.

Director of Services Ms Fiona Lawless thanked the groups on behalf of Meath County Council for the work that is carried out by the volunteers the Ashbourne District, acknowledging the importance of their work for the people of Ashbourne and commending their commitment, noting that the District is a credit to all involved.

The highlight of the night was the award for Volunteer of the Year which was presented to Liam McCarthy of Old Garlow Cross Committee. While Liam is not a native of Meath he has lived and absorbed himself in his community for over 40 years. He was quick to put himself forward to get involved with his community group and since then has been a reliable and loyal member. 


Full List of Award Winners:

Housing Estate Small


  • 1st Place: Churchview
  • Joint 2nd Place: Beech Grove
  • Joint 2nd Place: Cherry Tree Drive

Housing Estate Medium

  • 1st Place: Mountain View
  • 2nd Place: Milltown Meadows

Housing Estate Large

  • 1st Place: Garden City & Crestwood Estate
  • 2nd Place: The Briars

Best Bee Friendly Front Garden

  • Joint Winner: Olwyn Gardiner
  • Joint Winner: The Fannings

Village/ Townland >500

  • Kilbride Tidy Towns Group
  • Runner Up: Bellewstown Tidy Towns

Small Town 500 – 2000

  • Kentstown Village Tidy Towns

Large Town > 2000

  • Ashbourne Tidy Towns

Watercourse Amenity

  • Kentstown Village Tidy Towns

Grow Your Own

  • Brindley Park Residents Association


  • Old Garlow Cross Committee


  • Joint Winner: Ashbourne Tidy Towns
  • Joint Winner: Brindley Park Residents Association

Best New Group

  • Clonalvy Revival Programme

Community Age Friendly Initiative

  • Milltown Meadows Residents Association

Shop Front

  • Topline Murtaghs


  • Sweeneys of Kilbride

Volunteer of the Year

  • Liam McCarthy