Pride of Place - Kells Municipal District Awards Night


Pride of Place - Kells Municipal District Awards Night

Volunter of the Year John Meehan

The Kells Municipal District Pride of Place awards were held in the Headfort Arms Hotel, Kells on Wednesday night, 2nd October, 2019. The evening was emceed by Eilis Sheehy, with the Chairperson of Kells Municipal District, Cllr. Sean Drew, warmly welcoming guests which included local Councillors and representatives from 55 local groups.

Cllr. Drew acknowledged the fantastic work and achievements of the voluntary groups, which demonstrates a real pride the people of Kells Municipal District have in their locality. Director of Services, Kevin Stewart, also commended the hard work of the groups from Kells Municipal District, noting it was acknowledged at national level in the results of the Tidy Towns competition, with this year seeing an increase of points for all participating groups from Kells Municipal District.

The highlight of the night was the award of Volunteer of the Year to John Meehan of Kells Community Volunteers. John was described as an unsung hero who is always ready to help with keeping Kells clean and volunteering at local events or festivals. John was also instrumental in helping to rediscover the historic walls of Kells and other attractions around the town.


Full List of Award Winners:

Housing Estate Small

  • Joint 1st Place: Railway View
  • Joint 1st Place: St. Mary’s Villas Moynalty
  • 2nd Place: Hillside Drive & Ardee Road

Housing Estate Medium

  • 1st Place: Mount Dutton
  • 2nd Place: Cherryhill Court

Housing Estate Large

  • 1st Place: Cherryhill
  • 2nd Place: Village Green


Best Bee Friendly Front Garden

  • Gerry McDermott

Village/ Townland >500

  • Dromone and District Development Association

Small Town 500 – 2000

  • Nobber Pride of Place

Large Town > 2000

  • Oldcastle Tidy Towns

Youth Project

  • Kells Local Heroes

Watercourse Amenity

  • Drumconrath Community Development Association

Grow Your Own

  • Athboy Community Allotments Group


  • Kells Community Volunteers


  • Wilkinstown Development Group

Best New Group

  • Oldcastle Pitch & Putt Club

Vacant Premises

  • Nobber Pride of Place

Community Age Friendly Initiative

  • St Mary’s Villas, Moynalty

Shop Front

  • Tiernan’s Pub


  • Nobber Pride of Place

Volunteer of the Year

  • John Meehan