Pride of Place- Ratoath Municipal District Awards Night


Pride of Place- Ratoath Municipal District Awards Night

Volunteer of the Year - Brendan Doyle

The Ratoath Municipal District Pride of Place awards were held in the Dunshaughlin Community Centre on Tuesday night, 8th October, 2019. Chairperson of Ratoath Municipal District, Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald warmly welcomed the guests, which included local Councillors and representatives from 45 local groups.

Cllr. Fitzgerald noted the fantastic work and achievements of the voluntary groups, which demonstrates a real pride the people of Ratoath Municipal District have in their locality.


Director of Services Mr Des Foley congratulated all the groups present on their achievements over the last 12 months, noting that there were 17 new entries from the Ratoath Municipal District in this years’ competition, and that this is a sign of the commitment the people of Ratoath Municipal District have in making their communities a better place to live. This commitment has been acknowledged at national level in the Tidy Towns competition, with another year of increased points for the groups in the Ratoath Municipal District.

Full List of Award Winners:

Housing Estate Small

  • 1st Place: Bridge View
  • Joint 2nd Place: St. Peter’s Park
  • Joint 2nd Place: The Sidings

Housing Estate Medium 

  • 1st Place: Hillview
  • 2nd Place: Seagrave Park

Housing Estate Large

  • 1st Place: Lutterell Hall
  • 2nd Place: Clonkeen

Best Bee Friendly Front Garden

  • Patsy & Beatrice Carty

Village/ Townland >500

  • Joint Winner: Batterstown Village Enhancement Association
  • Joint Winner: Dunsany Pride of Place

Small Town 500 – 2000

  • Skane Valley Community Council

Large Town > 2000

  • Dunshaughlin Tidy Towns Group

Youth Project

  • Dunboyne Tidy Towns Association

Watercourse Amenity

  • Ratoath Tidy Towns

Grow Your Own

  • Batterstown Village Enhancement Association


  • Dunshaughlin & District Historical Society


  • Dunboyne Tidy Towns Association

Vacant Premises

  • Batterstown Village Enhancement Association

Community Age Friendly Initiative

  • Ratoath Men’s Shed

Shop Front

  • Forever Amber Bookshop


  • Slevin’s Pubs

Volunteer of the Year

  • Brendan Doyle